Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Decolonizing mental health practice
Dive in Well
Mission of working towards a more inclusive wellness industry
The Circle Way
In light of these times, The Circle Way reaffirms the essential practice of taking a seat on the rim and turning to one another to uphold racial, ethnic, gender, economic, and environmental justice.
"At HealHaus, we’ve combined diverse healing modalities and practitioners under one roof to provide people with an inclusive space focused on holistic health and wellness. We are committed to building a community that is dedicated to changing the stigma attached to healing."
Books in the Adler Library collection
Addressing Racism: Facilitating Cultural Competence in Mental Health and Educational Settings by
Publication Date: 2006-06-27
Learn to identify and combat unintentional and overt racism This provocative book identifies and addresses racism in mental health and educational settings, providing proven strategies for overcoming this stubborn barrier to culturally competent practice. While addressing overt forms of racism, the book also explores and sensitizes practitioners to covert and unintentional forms of racism that may be equally detrimental in denying persons of color access to unbiased, high-quality education and mental health care. Despite the dismantling of overt racist policies, such as segregated schooling, and the implementation of policies aimed at remedying racial inequities, such as affirmative action, racism continues to persist in American society. Drs. Madonna Constantine and Derald Wing Sue, two of the leading researchers and advocates for multicultural competence, have collected sixteen thought-provoking and challenging chapters on the many ways that racism can affect a practitioner's interactions in mental health and school settings. These contributions collectively bring to the forefront highly charged issues that need to be discussed, but are too often hidden away. The book is divided into four parts: What Do We Know about Racism? Racism in Mental Health Contexts Racism in Educational Settings Eradicating Racism: Future Directions Faced with the responsibility of understanding multiple oppressions and the intersections of racism with sexism, classism, and heterosexism, mental health practitioners and educators must be vigilant of their personal role in perpetuating racism. This collected work will help you identify forms of racism, both within yourself and the systems you work in, and then implement strategies to eliminate them.
Bias in Psychiatric Diagnosis by
Publication Date: 2004-10-08
Bias in Psychiatric Diagnosis is the first book about how gender, race, social class, age, physical disability, and sexual orientation affect the classification of human beings into psychiatric categories. This is a hot topic addressed to the public's right to know, especially because the negative consequences of psychiatric diagnosis range from loss of custody of a child to denial of health insurance and employment to removal of one's right to make decisions about one's legal affairs.
Critical Psychology by
Publication Date: 2009-03-05
The Second Edition of Critical Psychology: An Introduction extends the original's comprehensive and accessible critique of mainstream psychology. The First Edition quickly became critical psychology's entry point, introducing readers around the world to the growing challenge to psychology's moral, political, and scientific status. Fully revised, reconfigured and expanded, this new book explores critical psychology's continued growth and diversification, offers practical advice, and notes significant theoretical and political dilemmas confronting critical psychologists today. While other texts focus on narrower specialties within critical psychology or on specific theoretical or methodological perspectives, Critical Psychology retains its focus on critical psychology as a whole. Key Features of the New Edition: Each chapter now also includes a summary of main points, a glossary of important terms, suggested readings and Internet sites, and questions for discussion. The book's contributors - most of them new - have thoroughly updated the original chapters and provide multiple perspectives on critical psychology's core concerns. Reflecting recent developments, Parts III and IV are completely new to this edition. Part III provides in-depth coverage of critical psychology's relevance to social justice, focusing on the issues of race, class, gender, disability, colonization/globalization, human rights/social justice in post-conflict settings, and oppression/empowerment in mental health systems. Part IV examines critical psychology practice, from theory, methodology, and therapy to community organizing and the politics of resistance. Critical Psychology is an essential text for undergraduate and graduate students studying Critical Psychology, Conceptual Issues, Theoretical Psychology, Psychological Inquiry and Qualitative Methods.
Foundations of Multicultural Psychology by
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Multicultural psychology is a vibrant, emerging discipline with great potential to inform therapists about cultural considerations relevant to mental health. But to what extent are existing assumptions about culturally-informed practice based on research evidence? This book brings clarity to the current evidence base, shifting the conversation toward greater inclusion of cultural factors in psychotherapy and helping those conversations become more reliant on data than on opinion. Using meta-analytic methods to summarize what we know, this balanced, comprehensive book is a major step towards establishing a core set of principles for multicultural scholarship and providing answers to the fundamental questions in the field. For instance, how large are racial discrepancies in mental health service utilisation and what factors predict those discrepancies? To what extent are perceptions of racism and ethnic identity associated with psychological well-being? And to what extent can therapists' multicultural training and competence benefit diverse clients? The answers to these questions are relevant and important to every therapist who works in our multicultural world.
Mental Health, Racism and Sexism by
Publication Date: 1995-09-14
The essays in this volume discuss racism and sexism as they affect mental health. In particular, they focus on training, diagnosis, treatment, and research, emphasizing the power relationships between individuals and groups that cause unequal access to mental health care. They offer perspectives on issues and their distinct effects on mental health: interracial adoptions, teenage motherhood, gender bias in mental health diagnosis and therapy, prisons used as substitutes for hospitals, homeless families, and increasing violence- in the home, on college campuses, and in the streets.
Overcoming Unintentional Racism in Counseling and Therapy by
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Any counselor or therapist, regardless of race, background, or motive, can engage in unintentional acts of racism. In so doing, they may inadvertently sabotage their own efforts and perpetuate the very problems they seek to overcome. Overcoming Unintentional Racism in Counseling and Therapy, Second Edition examines the dynamics and effects of racism in counseling with an emphasis on the insidiousness of unintentional racism. Workable solutions and practical alternatives are proposed with the goal of eliminating unintentional racism. Numerous supporting clinical examples are included in order to help counselors gain new insights into their operational practices and to modify any behaviors that may interfere with a helpful intervention. The Second Edition also provides a new section on the policies and practices of agencies and other institutions in the mental health system unintentionally resulting in service disparities. Macro-system and micro-system interventions are proposed to overcome these disparities. Key Features: - The only book that addresses unintentional racism in counseling and therapy. - Offers a superb balance of theory and practice. - Provides problem identification and workable solutions to individual and institutional racism. Overcoming Unintentional Racism in Counseling and Therapy is ideally suited as a supplementary text for theoretical courses in counseling, counseling techniques, practicum, multicultural counseling, and professional seminars.
Racism and Mental Health by
Publication Date: 2002-04-25
`The book will be of interest, and easily read by anyone working with a multi-ethnic clientele and should be required reading for anyone in the field of mental health' -Journal of the Canadian Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry `I recommend this book as an important addition to the literature on mental health and on racism...this is a book well worth readying and studying.' - Transcultural Psychiatry Sept 2005 `Kam Bhui makes a valuable and important contribution to our understanding of culture and ethnicity. I strongly advise all psychiatrists, both consultants and trainees, to read this book and to respond honestly to the challenges it presents. It demonstrates the value of political and social analyses of our work in the training of psychiatrists. But for me, its greatest value is in the way it shows how we must acknowledge the influence of our own histories and cultural backgrounds on the way we approach our work and those we struggle to help. The Other will cease to be an Other only when we accept the Other in ourselves.' -British Journal of Psychiatry `This is a refreshing addition to the growing body of literature on racism and mental health. Bhui draws together personal and professional experiences with current research evidence to provide a cogent analysis of the relationship between racism and mental health from both theoretical and experiential perspectives. The particular strength of this model is that it is anchored in the lived experiences of black service users...[It] should be a call to action for all mental health practitioners.' -Mental Health today `The book provides an excellent illustration of the extent of institutional racism, not just in mental health, but within the NHS as a whole and should be widely used particularly in education institutions and medical schools.' - community practitioner This thought-provoking book investigates the impact of racism (both conscious and unconscious) in mental health settings, covering individual clinical encounters and the broader picture of service provision. The authors offer insights into manifestations of racism in contemporary Britain; racial and cultural identity and the significance of these in psychotherapy; and the inequalities in provision of mental health services to minority ethnic communities. They consider the problems of racism and mental health, not in isolation but in the larger context of cultural difference and social inequalities, and also on the level of human relationships. Bringing together the experiences of mental health professionals and incorporating a service user's perspective, this book provides many practical strategies for addressing racism and dealing with its effects in psychiatric work, and will prove useful and informative to practitioners in many areas of mental health work.
Strategies for Deconstructing Racism in the Health and Human Services by
Publication Date: 2016-06-29
Building on the successful outcomes of a five-year initiative undertaken in New York City, Alma Carten, Alan Siskind, and Mary Pender Greene bring together a national roster of leading practitioners, scholars, and advocates who draw upon extensive practice experiences and original research.Together, they offer a range of strategies with a high potential for creating the critical mass for change that is essential to transforming the nation's health and human services systems.Strategies for Deconstructing Racism in the Health and Human Services closes the gap in the literature examining the role of interpersonal bias, structural racism, and institutional racism that diminish service access and serve as the root cause for the persistence of disparate racial and ethnicoutcomes observed in the nation's health and human services systems. The one-of-a-kind text is especially relevant today as population trends are dramatically changing the nation's demographic and cultural landscape, while funds for the health and human services diminish and demands for culturallyrelevant evidence-based interventions increase. The book is an invaluable resource for service providers and educational institutions that play a central role in the education and preparation of the health and human service workforce.