Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Choosing resources for your course
Use Adler University Library:
- Reliable scholarly and professional literature
- No copyright limitations
- Guaranteed access
Check out the "Find Resources" tab on this guide to learn how.
Problems with using other libraries:
- Links to resources you find in other libraries won't work for Adler students
- Instead, check if we provide access to the same article; or
- Place a request for it through ILLiad.
Access issues with print resources that aren't available as e-books
- If the library doesn't have the e-book, check with the Librarian - we will purchase it if possible
- If e-book is not available:
- Consider financial implications
- Consider that students overseas may face delays in getting print textbooks delivered in time for the start of classes
Who does what
- Begins with the Adler University Library catalog to find e-books; e-book chapters; and streaming videos, and with the Library's databases to identify articles from the scholarly and/or professional literature in the field.
- Includes article permalinks in the course plan.
- Includes e-book permalinks in the course plan.
- Checks to see if articles they have found elsewhere are available in Adler databases
- Checks RightFind Academic (if the article is not available through Adler Library) to determine if our copyright license allows for use in the LMS
- Places ILLiad requests for database articles that aren't available full text at Adler if our copyright license allows use in the LMS.
- Determines suitability of those articles after receiving and reading the full text versions and if they approve, sends the article PDF to the instructional designer.
- Identifies sources that have been published in the past five years. Older sources should be foundational, or classics in the field.
- Choose website resources that are written by authoritative voices in the field and cite their sources.
The faculty teaching the course:
- 2 weeks prior to the start of term, checks that all links to library resources work
- Provides instruction & reference in how to navigate Adler University Library resources--article databases, e-books collections, and streaming video collections
- Checks if books we do not own can be purchased as ebooks for your classes
- Provides information literacy instruction