Adler University Library: Social Determinants of Health: Journal Articles

Resources

Databases
Open Access Journals

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. Subject coverage includes (but is not limited to) animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
ERIC via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Educational Resource Information Center database. Provides access to education literature and resources from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
APA PsycInfo (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Definitive database for psychology, psychiatry, and related mental health disciplines (including social, behavioral, and health sciences). Also includes material in related fields such as management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 700 journals in sociology and its sub-disciplines. Subjects covered include criminology & criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, substance abuse & other addictions, and violence. Also includes full-text access to nearly 800 books and over 9,000 conference papers.
Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal This link opens in a new window
Climate Change & Human Health Literature Portal is an open access database, so the searching is free, but not all the citations are open access. Use Adler Library’s catalog and/or ILLiad to obtain full text if the database does not provide it. This database from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) is a rich database containing more than 13,000 unique, global, peer-reviewed research resources on climate change and human health. The Portal brings together biomedical, earth science literature to help users across different disciplines, sectors, and knowledge levels quickly access relevant literature and answer their questions about climate change and its health impacts. The comprehensive database includes peer-reviewed articles, assessments, and scientific papers published between 2007 and 2020.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®).

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
List of predatory open access journals
Avoid these journals

Track article retractions

Guide to track retractions

Citation chasing

Use the past

Check the works cited by an article you already found in order to find more relevant articles.

Look to the future

To find articles that cite an article you found, try Google Scholar. Just search for the article you have, and then click "Cited by..."

Subject headings vs. keywords

Keywords	Subject Headings
Natural language - user generated	Controlled vocabulary used to describe a subject
Could appear only once - anywhere in abstract or title	Database applies subject headings to each resource, based on topic/subject of resource (adds specificity to your search)
No related terms are found, but homonyms might be (words spelled the same, but with different meanings)	Exist in a thesaurus, so helps you find related terms, weed out homonyms
Like using Ctrl+F in a document	All variations (spellings) are covered
Useful when: topic is very new, or looking for specific person/organization	Useful when: topic has established academic research on it, and you want highly relevant results

Tips for using keywords

Spelling & word variations (these work in most databases)

Truncation Use * at the end of the word for variations on endings
- Educt* (retrieves educate, educator, educated, educational)
Question mark Use ? in the middle of a word for variable spellings
- Colo*r (retrieves color & colour)

Group a phrase together in precise order

Use quotes “ “ to take a phrase together, rather than each word separately
- “industrial and organizational psychology”

Proximity searching - find words near each other

Ovid
- ADJ = adjacency
- Examples:
  - PMDD ADJ1 treatment = PMDD treatment or treatment PMDD
  - PMDD ADJ2 treatment = PMDD [any word] treatment or treatment [any word] PMDD
  - PMDD ADJ3 treatment = PMDD [any two words] treatment or treatment [any two words] PMDD
EBSCO
- N = Near (searches terms in any order)
- W = Within (searches terms in specified order)
- Examples:
  - diabetes N1 health = diabetes [any word] health or health [any word] diabetes
  - diabetes W1 health = diabetes [any word] health
ProQuest
- near/ or n/ (searches terms in any order)
- pre/ or p/ (searches terms in specified order)
- Examples:
  - diabetes near/1 health = diabetes [any word] health or health [any word] diabetes
  - diabetes pre/1 health = diabetes [any word] health