Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Adler University

Faculty Teaching Online: Articles

Finding an Article From a Citation

1. From the Library website select Journals & E-books.

 

2.  Check only the Journals box and choose Title Equals from the drop down menu, then enter the title of the journal.

Sperry, L. & Carlson, J. (2012). Continuing Our Global Look at Individual Psychology.Journal of Individual Psychology, 68(4), 309.

3. Select the database that includes the year that the article was published.

Sperry, L. & Carlson, J. (2012). Continuing Our Global Look at Individual Psychology.Journal of Individual Psychology, 68(4), 309.

4. Then select the year, volume, and issue number of publication to retrieve your article.

Sperry, L. & Carlson, J. (2012). Continuing Our Global Look at Individual Psychology.Journal of Individual Psychology, 68(4), 309.

 

Permalinks in PsycInfo and other OVID databases

OVID calls permalinks Jumpstart URLs.  Select Email Jumpstart, then cut and paste the Jumpstart URL.

Permalinks in SAGE databases

For SAGE Journals database:

1. Right click on the PDF of the article you would like to use and select Copy Link Address.

2. Paste that url into your document.

3. Now paste the Adler University proxy url ( http://ezproxy.adler.edu/login?url=)  in front of the SAGE url.

 

Using Permalinks to Add Database Articles to Ember

Permalinks are stable urls that you can cut and paste to your Ember class to link your students to database articles.

To give students access to an article, you must use the permalink and not the url that appears in your browser window.  

The boxes below explain where to find permalinks in different databases.

Permalinks in EBSCO databases (Academic Search Complete, SOCIndex, and others)

To reach the permalink in EBSCO databases, click on the title of the article you would like to use. Select Permalink on the right side of the page, cut and paste the link that appears.

Permalinks in ProQuest Databases ( ProQuest Psychology Journals, Criminal Justice Periodicals, and others)

ProQuest calls permalinks Document URLs. 

1. Click on Citation/Abstract

 

2. Scroll down the Indexing details, cut and paste the document url.