Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DOAJ: Search articles in the Directory of Open Access Journals
Open Access Databases
These databases offer full or partial open access to content. Click on for detailed information about coverage.
African Journals Online
Promoting access to African research.
- access to U.S. resources on HIV/AIDS clinical research, treatment, prevention, drugs & vaccines, and medical practice guidelines
Search holdings of over 800 Canadian archives
Arto (from National Library of Finland)
- provides "free access to a searchable database of journal articles from over 600 scholarly journals published in Finland from 1990 onwards"
- includes areas of the sciences, social sciences and humanities
- provides over 203 peer reviewed open access journals in medicine and biology
- "a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world"
Early Canadiana Online
Pre-1900 Canadian publications. VIU does not subscribe but many of the works are open access and may be viewed. Check the VIU Library to see if items are also available in the Library's online collection or on microform.
ERIC: Education Resources Center
- 1966 to current
- Some full text
- Journal and non-journal resources
First Nations Periodical Index (FNPI)
Includes article citations from 20 newspapers, magazines & journals covering mainly Canadian content (no abstracts or full text)
FreeBMD is an ongoing project, the aim of which is to transcribe the Civil Registration index of births, marriages and deaths for England and Wales, and to provide free Internet access to the transcribed records.
Geobase - (Canadian Council on Geomatics)
- "to ensure the provision of, and access to, a common, up-to-date and maintained base of quality geospatial data for all of Canada"
- search over 100 encylopedias and dictionaries
Highwire Press (from Stanford University, U.S.)
- over 15 million scientific and medical articles, including some full text
ibiblio (Univ of North Carolina)
- an Internet collection of collections on all subject areas
- academic and scientific biomedical journals published in India, including peer reviewed journals
- provides lists for hospitals, physicians, prescription information, clinical trials, etc.
MedLine Plus (U.S. National Library of Medicine))
Medical information on over 740 topics, including systems of the body, compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes diagrams and videos.
- includes "newspapers, oral histories, photographs, books, newsletters, legal documents, meeting minutes and other ephemeral materials"
NLM - National Library of Medicine - U.S.
Search multiple free databases related to medicine and health
Multi-disciplinary aggregator of peer-reviewed Open Access journals and papers, "gold" and "hybrid".
U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature
ROSAP : National Transportation Library (U.S.)
- from 1960 to current
- provides over 500,000 bibliogrpahic records concerning tranportation research published in books, journals, and reports
- gateway to science information provided by U.S. government agencies
Database of open scientific & scholarly literature
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (U.S.)
- includes data for more than 100 sources on all aspects of criminal justice
- includes over 600 data tables
SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition)
- a global advocacy organization working to make research and education open and equitable by design—for everyone
Census and various statistics for the Canadian population, including community profiles, GDP, unemployment, consumer price index, etc.
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information
Treesearch (USDA Forest Service)
- records of Forest Service Research publications
- includes some full text
U.S. Democracy: Core Documents
- direct online access to federal government documents e.g. Bill of Rights, Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, Abraham Lincoln papers, USA Constitution, etc.
US Census Bureau
- the primary source for US Census records
USPTO Patent Database (U.S. Patent and Trademark Office)
- allows searching of bibliographic information (e.g. titles, inventors, assignees, class codes, references)
USPTO Trademark Database
- allows searching of data (e.g. titles, owners, relevant dates) back to 1984
Vintage Ad Browser
100,000+ vintage advertisements to explore. Images in .jpg format.
Wikimedia Commons is a repository of digital media, including images, video, and audio. Much of the content is in the public domain or has been uploaded under a Creative Commons licence. Be sure to view the terms of any applicable licence before you use the image.
Winspear Canadian Industry Database (University of Alberta)
Selected national and provincial industry coverage, specifically for Canada and Alberta
Assessing if your Open Access source is credible or not
OpenDOAR: Search Open Repository Contents
OpenDOAR: Search open repository contents
"This service, based on the Google Custom Search engine, lets you search the contents of the repositories listed in OpenDOAR for freely available academic research information. This quality assured approach minimises (but does not eliminate!) spurious or junk results, and leads more directly to useful and relevant information. Full texts are available for most results."
Credits and CC Licensing
This guide as been used and adapted with permission from Dana McFarland, eResources Librarian from Vancouver Island University.