Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chat loading...

MACP 674_Introduction to Sex Therapy: Google Scholar

Google and Google Scholar

  • When you use Google for research, you are searching the entire internet, including many commercial websites.
  • But when you use Google Scholar, you are searching scholarly literature found on the websites of universities, academic journal publishers, and professional societies.  
  • However, not all articles on Google Scholar are available for free.  You can connect Adler's EBSCO databases to Google Scholar using the directions below, but other articles won't be available to you through Scholar unless you pay.
  • You will never have to pay for an article in an Adler library database, so if you find something in Scholar you want to use that requires payment, contact the Library.

Linking Google Scholar to Adler Databases

Do you prefer searching Google Scholar's one search box instead of using specific databases for your research?

Have you ever found a great article in Google Scholar but then realized you would have to pay to read it?

Link Google Scholar to Adler's EBSCO article databases and you can have the search box you like without having to pay for articles.

Here's how:

1. Go to Google Scholar

2. Sign in to your Google account

3. Go to Settings

4. Select Library Links and enter Adler University, then check the boxes for Open WorldCat (for book searches) and Full Text @ Adler U. for articles from Ebsco databases such as Academic Search Complete, Business Source,Criminal Justice, SocIndex,and SPORTdiscus.  Here's a list of Ebsco databases that Adler provides.

5. Now when you search Google Scholar you will see if an article is available in an Adler Library database right on your search result screen. Click on Full Text @ Adler, log in with your library username and password, and you will be brought to the article in an Adler database.

Help with Google Scholar

Use Scholar's advanced search features by clicking on this icon 

Find Scholar search help here.