Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Indigenous research methods?
Writing about her own research process, author Linda Tuhiwai Smith describes Indigenous research as using "methodologies that engage indigenous communities in research as active participants and as producers of knowledge [and that enable] non-indigenous researchers to think critically about research practices with any marginalized community." (Smith, 2012 p. 364).
First Nations principles of ownership, control, access, and possession
The First Nations principles of OCAP® establish how First Nations’ data and information will be collected, protected, used, or shared. Standing for ownership, control, access and possession, OCAP® is a tool to support strong information governance on the path to First Nations data sovereignty.
Indigenous Research Methods
Research Is Ceremony : Indigenous research methods by
Call Number: GN380 .W554 2008
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Describing a research paradigm shared by indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, this study demonstrates how this standard can be put into practice. Portraying indigenous researchers as knowledge seekers who work to progress indigenous ways of being, knowing, and doing in a constantly evolving context, this examination shows how relationships both shape indigenous reality and are vital to reality itself. These same knowledge seekers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony of maintaining accountability. Envisioning researchers as accountable to all relations, this overview proves that careful choices should be made regarding selection of topics, methods of data collection, forms of analysis, and the way in which information is presented.
Indigenous Methodologies : characteristics, conversations and contexts by
Call Number: E76.7 .K68 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-07
What are Indigenous research methodologies, and how do they unfold? Indigenous methodologies flow from tribal knowledge, and while they are allied with several western qualitative approaches, they remain distinct. These are the focal considerations of Margaret Kovach's study,which offers guidance to those conducting research in the academy using Indigenous methodologies. Kovach includes topics such as Indigenous epistemologies, decolonizing theory, story as method, situating self and culture, Indigenous methods, protocol, meaning-making, and ethics. In exploring these elements, the book interweaves perspectives from six Indigenous researchers who share their stories, and also includes excerpts from the author's own journey into Indigenous methodologies. Indigenous Methodologies is an innovative and important contribution to the emergent discourse on Indigenous research approaches and will be of use to graduate students, professors, and community-based researchers of all backgrounds - both within the academy and beyond.
Decolonizing Methodologies : research and Indigenous peoples by
Call Number: GN380 .S65 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-10
'A landmark in the process of decolonizing imperial Western knowledge.' Walter Mignolo, Duke University To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being. Now in its eagerly awaited second edition, this bestselling book has been substantially revised, with new case-studies and examples and important additions on new indigenous literature, the role of research in indigenous struggles for social justice, which brings this essential volume urgently up-to-date.
Handbook of Critical and Indigenous Methodologies by
Call Number: GN345 .H364 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-07
The Handbook of Critical Methodologies covers everything from the history of critical and indigenous theory and how it came to inform and impact qualitative research and indigenous peoples to the critical constructs themselves, including race/diversity, gender representation (queer theory, feminism), culture, and politics to the meaning of "critical" concepts within specific disciplines (critical psychology, critical communication/mass communication, media studies, cultural studies, political economy, education, sociology, anthropology, history, etc. - all in an effort to define emancipatory research and explore what critical qualitative research can do for social change and social justice.
Indigenous Pathways into Social Research by
Call Number: GN380 .I5289 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-15
A new generation of indigenous researchers is taking its place in the world of social research in increasing numbers. These scholars provide new insights into communities under the research gaze and offer new ways of knowing to traditional scholarly models. They also move the research community toward more sensitive and collaborative practices. But it comes at a cost. Many in this generation have met with resistance or indifference in their journeys through the academic system and in the halls of power. They also often face ethical quandaries or even strong opposition from their own communities. The life stories in this book present the journeys of over 30 indigenous researchers from six continents and many different disciplines. They show, in their own words, the challenges, paradoxes, and oppression they have faced, their strategies for overcoming them, and how their work has produced more meaningful research and a more just society.
Indigenous Statistics : a quantitative research methodology by
Call Number: GN380 .W35 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-15
In the first book ever published on Indigenous quantitative methodologies, Maggie Walter and Chris Andersen open up a major new approach to research across the disciplines and applied fields. While qualitative methods have been rigorously critiqued and reformulated, the population statistics relied on by virtually all research on Indigenous peoples continue to be taken for granted as straightforward, transparent numbers. This book dismantles that persistent positivism with a forceful critique, then fills the void with a new paradigm for Indigenous quantitative methods, using concrete examples of research projects from First World Indigenous peoples in the United States, Australia, and Canada. Concise and accessible, it is an ideal supplementary text as well as a core component of the methodological toolkit for anyone conducting Indigenous research or using Indigenous population statistics.
Elements of Indigenous Style by
Call Number: PN147 .Y68 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Elements of Indigenous Style offers Indigenous writers and editors—and everyone creating works about Indigenous Peoples—the first published guide to common questions and issues of style and process. Everyone working in words or other media needs to read this important new reference, and to keep it nearby while they’re working.
This guide features:
Twenty-two succinct style principles.
Advice on culturally appropriate publishing practices, including how to collaborate with Indigenous Peoples, when and how to seek the advice of Elders, and how to respect Indigenous Oral Traditions and Traditional Knowledge.
Terminology to use and to avoid.
Advice on specific editing issues, such as biased language, capitalization, and quoting from historical sources and archives.
Case studies of projects that illustrate best practices.
Participatory Qualitative Research Methodologies in Health by
Call Number: RA440.85 .P368 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-24
This guide to the essentials of doing participatory methods in a broad range of health contexts covers all of the stages of the research process, from research design right through to dissemination. With chapters from international contributors, each with many years' experience using participatory qualitative approaches, it provides guidance on. - Ethical issues in Participatory Research - Designing and conduction Participatory Research projects - Data management and analysis - Researching with different populations - New technologies Packed full of up to date and engaging case studies, Participatory Qualitative Research Methodologies in Health offers a wide range of perspectives and voices on the practicalities and theoretical issues involved in conducting participatory research today. It is the ideal resource for students and researchers embarking upon a participatory research project.
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by
Call Number: LB880.F73 P4313
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
First published in Portuguese in 1968, Pedagogy of the Oppressed was translated and published in English in 1970. The methodology of the late Paulo Freire has helped to empower countless impoverished and illiterate people throughout the world. Freire's work has taken on especial urgency in the United States and Western Europe, where the creation of a permanent underclass among the underprivileged and minorities in cities and urban centers is increasingly accepted as the norm.With a substantive new introduction on Freire's life and the remarkable impact of this book by writer and Freire confidant and authority Donaldo Macedo, this anniversary edition of Pedagogy of the Oppressed will inspire a new generation of educators, students, and general readers for years to come.
Articles & Chapters
- Absolon, K., & Willett, C. (2004). Aboriginal research: Berry picking and hunting in the 21st century. First Peoples Child and Family Review, 1(1), 5–17. https://www.erudit.org/en/journals/fpcfr/1900-v1-n1-fpcfr05303/1069581ar.pdf
- Alberta Mental Health Board (2005). Background Report to: A Plan for a Mental Health Research Program for Alberta. Pimatisiwin, A Journal of Aboriginal and Indigenous Community Health, 3(2), 149-153.
- Andrews, M. M. (2008). Global leadership in transcultural practice, education and research. Contemporary Nurse: A Journal for the Australian Nursing Profession, 28(1-2), 13 – 16. https://doi.org/10.5172/conu.673.28.1-2.13
- Andrews, M., Backstrand, J. R., Boyle, J. S., Campinha-Bacote, J., Davidhizar, R. E., Doutrich, D., … Zoucha, R. (2010). Theoretical basis for transcultural care. Journal of transcultural nursing, 21(S1), 53S – 136S. doi:10. 1177/1043659610374321
- Bastida, E. M., Tseng, T. S., McKeever, C., & Jack, L. Jr. (2010). Ethics and community-based participatory research: Perspectives from the field. Health Promotion Practice, 11(1), 16 – 20. https://doi.org/10.1177/1524839909352841
- Blackstock, C. (2009). First Nations Children Count: Enveloping Quantitative Research in an Indigenous Envelope. First Peoples Child & Family Review, 4(2), 135-143. https://doi.org/10.7202/1069337ar
- Blackstock, C. (2010). First Nation Children Count: An Indigenous Envelope for Quantitative Research. First Peoples Child & Family Review, 5(2), 2010, 66-73. https://doi.org/10.7202/1068932ar
- Blumenthal, D. S. (2011). Is community-based participatory research possible? American Journal of Preventive Medicine, 40(3), 386 - 389. doi:10.1016/j.amepre.2010.11.011
- Bomar, P. J. (2010). Community-based participatory nursing research: A culturally focused case study. Japan Journal of Nursing Science, 7 (1), 1–8. doi:10.1111/j.1742-7924.2010.00145.x
- Castleden, H., Morgan, V. S., & Lamb, C. (2012). “I spent the first year drinking tea”: Exploring Canadian university researchers’ perspectives on community-based participatory research involving Indigenous peoples. The Canadian Geographer, 56(2), 160–179. doi:10.1111/j.1541-0064.2012.00432.x
- Chinn, P.L. & Kramer, M. K. (2011). Description and critical reflection of empiric theory. In P. L. Chinn & M. K. Kramer (Eds), Integrated knowledge development in nursing (8th ed., 184 – 205). Elsevier-Mosby.
- Douglas, M. K., Kemppainen, J. K., McFarland, M. R., Papadopoulos, I, Ray, M. A., Roper, … Hsiu-Min, T. (2010). Research methodologies for investigating cultural phenomena and evaluating vengeance. Journal of transcultural nursing, 21 (supplement), 373S – 405S. doi: 10. 1177/10436596103979
- Ellerby, J. H., McKenzie, J., McKay, S., Gariépy, G. J. & Kaufert J. M. (2000). Bioethics for clinicians: 18. Aboriginal cultures. CMAJ, 163(7) 845-850.
The First Nations Information Governance Centre.
- Flicker, S. (2008). Who benefits from community-based participatory research? A case study of the Positive Youth Project. Health Education & Behavior, 35(1). 70 – 86. https://journals-sagepub-com.ezproxy.adler.edu/doi/pdf/10.1177/1090198105285927
- Friedland, H. & Napoleon, V. (2015-2016). Gathering the Threads: Developing a Methodology for Researching and Rebuilding Indigenous Legal Traditions. Lakehead Law Journal, 1(1), 16-44.
- Gaventa, J., & Cornwall, A. (2004). Power and knowledge. In W. K. Carroll (Ed.), Critical strategies for social research (pp.320 – 337). Canadian Scholars Press.
- Geary, J., Jardine, C. G. , Guebert J. & Bubela T. (2013). Access and benefits sharing of genetic resources and associated traditional knowledge in northern Canada: understanding the legal environment and creating effective research agreements. International Journal of Circumpolar Health, 72(1). https://doi.org/10.3402/ijch.v72i0.21351
- Gone, J. P. (2014). Advancing Cultural-Clinical Psychology: Reflections on the Special Issue. Journal of Social and Clinical Psychology, 33 (Special Issue: Cultural-Clinical Psychology), 954-965. http://ezproxy.adler.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.ezproxy.adler.edu/docview/1638907799?accountid=26166
- Green, L. W., & Mercer, S. L. (2001). Can public health researchers and agencies reconcile the push from funding bodies and the pull from communities? American Journal of Public Health, 91(12), 1926 – 1929. http://ezproxy.adler.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.ezproxy.adler.edu/docview/215104492?accountid=26166
- Hudson, P. & Taylor-Henley, S. (2001). Beyond the Rhetoric: Implementing a Culturally Appropriate Research Project in First Nations Communities. American Indian Culture and Research Journal, 25(2), 93-105. https://doi.org/10.17953/aicr.25.2.wm706483h416245j
- Hergenrather, K. C., Geishecker, S., McGuire-Kuletz, M., Gitlin, D. J., & Rhodes, S. D. (2010). An introduction to community-based participatory research. Rehabilitation Education, 24(3 & 4), 225 – 238. http://ezproxy.adler.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.ezproxy.adler.edu/docview/855604085?accountid=26166
- Israel, B A., Schulz, A. J., Parker, E. A., Becker, A. B., Allen, A. J., & Guzman, J. R. (2008). Critical issues in developing and following CBPR principles. In Minkler, M., & Wallerstein, N. (Eds.), Community-based participatory research for health: From process to outcomes (2nd ed., pp. 47 - 66). Jossey-Bass. http://ezproxy.adler.edu/login?url=https://search-proquest-com.ezproxy.adler.edu/docview/855604085?accountid=26166
- Kamberelis, G., & Dimitriadis, G. (2011). Focus groups: Contingent articulations of pedagogy, politics, and inquiry. In Denzin, N. K. & Lincoln, Y. S. (Eds.), The SAGE handbook of qualitative research (4th ed., pp. 545 - 562). Sage. https://i-share-adl.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CARLI_ADL/araaum/alma99832443405818
- Kemmis, S., & McTaggart, R. (2005). Participatory action research. In N.K. Denzin & Y.S.Lincoln (Eds.), The Sage handbook of qualitative research (3rd ed., pp. 559-603). Sage. i-share-adl.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CARLI_ADL/1hdkecs/alma99735613405818
- Lincoln. Y. S., Lynham, S. A., & Guba. (2011). Paradigmatic controversies, contradictions, and emerging confluences, revisited. In Denzin, N. K. & Lincoln, Y. S. (Eds.), The SAGE handbook of qualitative research (4th ed., pp. 97 – 128). Sage. https://i-share-adl.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CARLI_ADL/araaum/alma99832443405818
- Meadows, L. M., Lagendyk, L. E., Thurston, W. E. & Eisener, A. C. (2003). Balancing Culture, Ethics, and Methods in Qualitative Health Research With Aboriginal Peoples. International Journal of Qualitative Methods, 2(4), 1-25.
- Minkler, M., & Wallerstein, N. (2008). Introduction to CBPR: New issues and emphases. In M. Minkler & N. Wallerstein (Eds.), Community-based participatory research for health: From process to outcomes (2nd ed., pp. 5 – 19). Jossey-Bass. https://i-share-adl.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CARLI_ADL/araaum/alma99529493405818
- Mitchell, T., & MacLeod, T. (2014). Aboriginal Social Policy: A Critical Community Mental Health Issue. Canadian Journal of Community Mental Health, 33(1), 109-122. http://ezproxy.adler.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=sih&AN=97160639&site=ehost-live&scope=site
- Petrucka, P., Bassendowski, S., Bickford, D., & Goodfeather, V. (2012). Towards building consensus: Revisiting key principles of CBPR within the First Nations/Aboriginal context. Open Journal of Nursing, 2(2), 143–148. doi:10.4236/ojn.2012.22022
- Piquemal, N. (2001). Free and Informed Consent in Research Involving Native American Communities. American Indian Culture and Research Journal, 25(1), 65-79. https://doi.org/10.17953/aicr.25.1.g67261j557p2p13m
- Potaka-Osborne, G. & Gifford, H. (2018). Adapting a Person-Centred Planning Tool for Collecting Qualitative Data on an Indigenous Research Project. Journal of Indigenous Wellbeing: Te Mauri - Pimatisiwin, 3(1), 57-68.
- Nagy, M. (2011). Access to data and reports after completion of a research project. Études / Inuit / Studies , 35(1-2), 201–221. https://doi.org/10.7202/1012842ar
- Running, A., Martin, K., & Tolle, L. W. (2007). An innovative model for conducting a participatory community health assessment. Journal of Community Health Nursing, 24(4), 203 – 213. https://doi.org/10.1080/07370010701645869
- Sillitoe, P. & Marzano, M. (2009). Future of Indigenous Knowledge Research in Development. Futures, 41(1), Futures of Indigenous Knowledges, 13-23. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.futures.2008.07.002
- Streubert, H. J. (2011a). Action research method. In, Streubert H. J., & & Carpenter, D. R. (Eds.), Qualitative research in nursing: Advancing the humanistic perspective (5th ed., pp. 300 - 321). Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
- Streubert, H. J. (2011b). The conduct of qualitative research: common essential elements. In, Streubert H. J., & & Carpenter, D. R. (Eds.), Qualitative research in nursing: Advancing the humanistic perspective (5th ed., pp. 18 - 32). Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
- Tonkin, R., Freeman, S., Martin J., Ward, V. & Skinner K. (2018). First Nations Elders’ Perspectives of Engagement in Community Programs in Nak’azdli Whut’en, British Columbia, Canada. Canadian Journal of Public Health, 109(5-6) 717-725. doi: 10.17269/s41997-018-0125-7
- Van Der Woerd, K. A. & Cox, D. N. (2006). From Theory To Practice: Methodological and Ethical Issues for Research with First Nations Communities. Pimatziwin: A Journal of Aboriginal and Indigenous Community Health, 4(1), 39-46.
- Wallerstein, N., & Duran, B. (2006). Using community-based participatory research to address health disparities. Health Promotion Practice, 7(3), 312 – 323. https://journals-sagepub-com.ezproxy.adler.edu/doi/pdf/10.1177/1524839906289379
- Wang, C. (2006). Youth participation in photovoice as a strategy for community change. Journal of Community Practice, 14(1/2), 147 - 161. https://i-share-adl.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01CARLI_ADL/araaum/alma995790842505818
- Wang, C., & Burris, M. (1997). Photovoice: Concept, methodology, and use for participatory needs assessment. Health Education & Behavior, 24(3), 369 – 387. https://journals-sagepub-com.ezproxy.adler.edu/doi/pdf/10.1177/109019819702400309
- Warrior, R. (2011). The Future in the Past of Native and Indigenous Studies. American Indian Culture and Research Journal, 35(1), 55-58. https://doi.org/10.17953/aicr.35.1.r542qx4gp638304v
- Wihak, C. & Merali N. (2007) Adaptations of Professional Ethics Among Counselors Living and Working in a Remote Native Canadian Community Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development, 35(3), 169-181. http://ezproxy.adler.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=25695191&site=ehost-live&scope=site
Native Health Database
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous peoples.
Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database
The Circumpolar Health Bibliographic Database contains 7900 records describing publications about all aspects of human health in the circumpolar region. The database is a project of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) Team in Circumpolar Health Research.
Inclusive and antiracist writing
Inclusive and antiracist writing
Writing services coordinator Julia Lane, from the Simon Fraser University Student Learning Commons, has created a suite of inclusive and antiracist writing guides, for use in the classroom and beyond.