Chat loading...
EBSCOhost databases allow you to search with subject headings (sometimes called the thesaurus or controlled vocabulary). You can start a subject heading search by clicking on the "Subjects" tab beneath the main search boxes.
In the "Subjects" tab, you will find another search box. Here is where you will enter the term you want to search. At this point you are not searching for articles, you are searching for a subject heading to use.
Say that I want to find articles about LGBT people. You can enter your term, and the search will offer the relevant subject heading. For example, in Academic Search Complete, the subject heading for LGBT people is LGBTQ+ people. You can select the term that you want to use, and click "Add to search"
This will allow you to find articles that have LGBTQ+ people tagged as a subject, regardless of the terminology that the authors of the paper use.
Repeat this process with each of your terms, adding them together with AND.
Adler Library subscribes to several databases through EBSCOhost. Thus, while each database has a different focus, the interface will look relatively similar.
We encourage you to search them separately, to focus on the databases which cover your topic best. However, it is possible to search across these databases simultaneously. First, enter any one of the EBSCOhost databases. Next, click on the title of the database that you chose, above the search boxes.
This will open a list of all of the available EBSCOhost databases. Select the databases to search across. You may choose as many as you like.
Once you have found an article you would like to read, click on "Access options" to view how to access it.
