Adler University Library: Clinical Mental Health Counseling CMHC: Books & Book Chapters

Find Books

Library Catalog
Search by title, author, or keyword. Use the Resource Type limiter on the right side of the screen to limit results to books and/or book chapters.

APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
Full text (PDF) of scholarly books published by the American Psychological Association.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebooks from 1,300+ leading publishers covering all academic disciplines.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of ebooks from leading publishers and university presses.

WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's most comprehensive database of information about library collections.

I-Share (Illinois Only)

What is I-Share?
A consortium of academic libraries throughout Illinois. Current members of the Adler community who live near to or can commute to Illinois can use I-Share to request physical books through our consortium of academic libraries in Illinois. You can also visit our member libraries to study or use their resources on their campus. Just be sure to bring your Adler ID. See links below for which libraries are part of I-Share.

How long does it take?

Books come physically to whichever library you select - most students prefer to pick up books at Adler.
Usually 3-4 days to arrive at the Mosak Library
You will receive an email when your book can be picked up

How long is the loan period?

4 weeks with up to 3 renewals, for 16 weeks total.
Books may be returned to the Mosak Library or to any other I-Share library.

Can I pick up the books at the lending library, directly?

Yes! You may pick up books in person at another I-Share library instead of having them sent to Adler. Call the other library first to make sure the book is on the shelf and have your Adler ID with you to check out. Use the links below to find a map of all I-Share libraries and an alphabetical list.

Find Books in the Library Catalog

On the main library homepage, search for a book by title, keyword, or author. You can search by ISBN but it is not recommended as you may not get accurate results.
On the results page, use the Resource Type limiter on the right side of the screen to limit your results by book and/or book chapter. Note that resource types will be presented in order based on the number of results of that type in the search so you may have to look carefully to find books and/or book chapters in the list.
Find the book or book chapter you're interested in. If you are looking for a specific title, be sure to check the publication date, edition, and other information to ensure you have the correct title.
Click on the book title to see all options for accessing the text.
- Books that are available online will have a link to a database or ebook collection in the View Online section of the book record.
- Books that are available in print will have access options show in the Get It section. Books owned by Adler will have information on the campus and collection they are in as well as their availability status. Books available through I-Share will show which colleges have copies of the text.
- Sign in for options to request a local copy or request a title through I-Share.