Public Administration and Public Policy - Chicago: Tests & Measures

Finding Tests and Measures by Topic

Use the databases linked on this page to search tests and measures by keyword.

These databases may not include the full text of a test or measure, so use the citation details provided to find the articles referenced or contact the libary for help.

Finding Full Text of Measures by Title

Finding the full text of a test or measure can be challenging. Follow these steps to get started:

1. Use Google or another search engine to learn about the test or measure
2. Search for the measure in APA PsycTests
3. Search for a dissertation that cites the measure
4. Contact the author

Google It!

If you know the name of the test or measure you want to find, searching with Google or another search engine can help you determine whether the test is freely available or commercially available.

If the test or measure is commercial (provided by Pearson, PAR, etc.) you will need to check with the Chicago Assessment Center or Vancouver Assessment Library for information about access.

Even if a test is available in full online, be sure to check the permissions before using it. Remember that not everything you find online has been uploaded legally!

Search APA PsycTests

If the test or measure is not commercially available or available on the open web, search the test by title in APA PsycTests. If full text is available, you'll see a link that says "Ovid Database PDF."

If the test/measure is not available in PsycTests, look for the Source Citation. This is the article in which the measure was originally published.

Search in Dissertations & Theses

If a dissertation cites a measure, it will usually be included in an appendix. Search for the measure using quotes, to find dissertations which cited it. Then scan through the appendices to see if the full measure is included. The body of the dissertation may also explain how to score the measure.

Contact the Author

If you cannot find the full text of the test or measure on Google, in APA PsycTests, or in a dissertation, consider reaching out to the author.

Author information can be found in APA PsycTests and APA PsycInfo, or the libary can assist you with finding this information.

When contacting test/measure authors, indentify yourself as an Adler University student and explain why you are interested in their test/measure. Be respectful and brief. Most authors will be excited to help!