Applied Psychology - Vancouver: Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods

SRM is a large full-text collection of books, articles, and videos about research methods in the social sciences. A subject guide is available for more information on how to use SRM.  Find information to support every stage of your research process, including:

1. Literature search

Titles include:

• Evaluating, Doing and Writing Research in Psychology
• Internet Research Skills
• Practitioner Research in Counselling
• Research Training for Social Scientists

2. Literature review

Titles include:

• Making Sense of Social Research
• Phenomenological Research Methods
• Research Training for Social Scientists
• Clinical Research in Mental Health
• Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation
• The SAGE Handbook of Innovation in Social Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods includes a search box for the SAGE Journals database. You can use this to find published articles that use the method you're interested in.

3. Research Design and Data Collection

SAGE Research Methods includes full text of the Little Blue Books, which describe qualitative methods, and the Little Green Books, for quantitative methods. Find both sets of books under the Content button.

Use Methods Map and Methods Browse to explore a variety of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-method research methodologies and data collection methods.

4. Analysis

Navigate to "Qualitative data analysis" or "Quantitative data analysis" on the Methods Map.

5. Writing and Presenting

Titles include:

• Writing and Presenting Research
• Writing Up Qualitative Research