Couple and Family Therapy CFT - Chicago: Journals & Journal Articles

Recommended Journals

Best Bet Databases

Citations From AI Sources

Citations generated by AI, such as ChatGPT, may not exist. AI is known to hallucinate and make up false citations that look correct and even contain information like DOIs and names of legitimate and well-respected journals. If you have citations that were generated by AI, do not be surprised if you can't find the articles! 

Finding Full Text of an Article 

1. On the main library homepage, search for the title of the article.
    
    
2. In the results, find the article you need. You may need to check that the author, journal, and/or publication date match the citation you have. 
   
    
3. Click on the article title to see all options for accessing the article text. 
   
    
4. If there are one or more links in the View Online section, click on a link to be taken to the full text. 
5. If there are no links in the View Online section, Sign In to view request options. Use Request Item to request the article via ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan). 

Search by Journal

Searching by journal can be helpful when searching for articles within a specific journal title or when looking for the entirety of a journal issue. 

1. On the main library homepage, click on the Journal Titles tab of the search box, then search for the title of the journal. Note that you cannot search journals by keyword, so you must first identify the exact title of the journal you want to look for. 
   
    
2. In the results, find the journal you need. Note that journals may have similar names and that journals often change names over time. You may need to check the publisher or other information to confirm you have the correct journal. 
   
    
3. Click on the article title to see all options for accessing the article text.
   • The View Online section will show any options for accessing articles in the journal online, often through library databases. Note that the dates available for access may be different in each database. In some databases access will not include the most recent 1 year of content due to licensing restrictions. 
     
   • The Get It section will offer options for accessing the journal in print, either at Adler campus libraries or through I-Share. Print holdings are often used to provide access to older material that is not available online. 
     
      
4. To access content online, click on a database or collection in the View Online section. Each database will have their own interface for accessing the journal content, but most will provide a way to browse the journal by year, volume, and issue as well as search within the journal.