Welcome! - PsyD - Chicago - Adler University Library at Adler University

We're here to help you

Or, make an appointment with a peer coach or Frances:

Schedule a Library Research Consultation
Meet with a Peer Coach to learn how to use our databases.
Meet with Frances Brady (Reference & Instruction Librarian) for topic refinement, resource evaluation, dissertation.

Databases by topic

For psychology-related topics, start with APA PsycInfo.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Definitive database for psychology, psychiatry, and related mental health disciplines (including social, behavioral, and health sciences). Also includes material in related fields such as management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

The DSM is available online. You can also borrow a physical copy of the DSM-V for 2 hours at a time, from the reserves shelf - just ask at the library help desk.

DSM-5-TR and DSM Legacy Collection This link opens in a new window
A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-5®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.

Inter-disciplinary:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. Subject coverage includes (but is not limited to) animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal This link opens in a new window
This database is open access, so the searching is free. But many of the resources are not free. If there's no link to the full text, just search for the journal title in the Catalog.

Education:

ERIC via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Educational Resource Information Center database. Provides access to education literature and resources from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

Sociology:

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 700 journals in sociology and its sub-disciplines. Subjects covered include criminology & criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, substance abuse & other addictions, and violence. Also includes full-text access to nearly 800 books and over 9,000 conference papers.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 900 SAGE journals in the areas of business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.

Medical:

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®).
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Database of nearly 550 scholarly full text journals (including nearly 450 peer-reviewed) from medical disciplines, with particularly strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
A collection of consumer health information providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
International Classification of Diseases (ICD) This link opens in a new window
The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) is the standard diagnostic tool for epidemiology, health management and clinical purposes. This includes the analysis of the general health situation of population groups. It is used to monitor the incidence and prevalence of diseases and other health problems.

Gender studies:

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.

Dissertations and theses:

Dissertations & Theses Full Text: The Sciences and Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 70,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full Text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution.

Methodology:

SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports beginning and advanced researchers in every step of a research project, from writing a research question, choosing a method, gathering and analyzing data, to writing up and publishing the findings. With information on the full range of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods for
the social and behavioral sciences, as well as many methods commonly used in the hard sciences, the book, reference, and journal content in SAGE Research Methods—from SAGE’s renowned methods publishing program— and advanced features help researchers of all levels conduct their research.

Quick links

Resources

Library homepage
Databases
Search by topic
Catalog
Find books, videos, journals
ILLiad
Request articles
RefWorks (citation management)
Save & manage citations

Tutorials

Chicago Campus Library Hours

Connect with us:

By chat, look for the "Ask a question. We're online!" link in the top right corner of the website.
By email, library@adler.edu
By phone, 312-662-4230
In person: 17 N. Dearborn, 15th floor

	Semester Hours	Break Hours
Monday	8am - 7pm CT	9am - 5pm CT
Tuesday	8am - 7pm CT	9am - 5pm CT
Wednesday	8am - 7pm CT	9am - 5pm CT
Thursday	8am - 7pm CT	9am - 5pm CT
Friday	9am - 5pm CT	9am - 5pm CT
Saturday	12pm - 4pm CT	CLOSED
Sunday	CLOSED	CLOSED

CARLI member access:

Please call the library at 312-662-4230 for instructions on accessing Adler's library.

Upcoming holiday closures:

May 29 - Monday, Memorial Day

June 19 - Monday, Juneteenth

Virtual Saturdays: (physical library closed, online services available via email and chat)

May 27, June 3, June 17, June 24 (9am-2pm)

*Please check Adler University's academic calendar for semester dates.

Adler University Academic Calendar

PsyD - Chicago: Welcome!

We're here to help you

Databases by topic

Quick links

Chicago Campus Library Hours

Credits