Public Administration and Public Policy - Chicago: Human Rights Resources

U.S. Dept of State annual reports to Congress on the status of internationally recognized human rights practices per country. Online archive from 1999-present.

Stateline is a nonpartisan, nonprofit news service of the Pew Center on the States. Since 1999, it has reported and analyzed trends in state policy.

Click on "Library." Publications including reports, news releases and urgent actions, 1996 to the present. Search by country, region, theme, etc. Documents are available in English, French, Spanish and Arabic.

The Carter Center works for international political and civil rights. See "News & Publications" for mulitple types of resources.

Search for financial, contact, and leadership information for U.S. nonprofit organizations

"Human Rights Watch, formerly (1978–88) Helsinki Watch, international nongovernmental organization that investigates and documents human rights violations and advocates for policies to prevent such abuses."

The work of the ICRC is based on the Geneva Conventions of 1949, their Additional Protocols, its Statutes – and those of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement – and the resolutions of the International Conferences of the Red Cross and Red Crescent. The ICRC is an independent, neutral organization ensuring humanitarian protection and assistance for victims of armed conflict and other situations of violence. It takes action in response to emergencies and at the same time promotes respect for international humanitarian law and its implementation in national law.

The database is freely accessible, and contains the fully searchable profiles in English and in French NGOs, as well as the contact details of their institutional members.

CRL’s human rights collections feature primary source materials ranging from the proceedings of the post-World War II war crimes trials at Nuremberg and Tokyo to the files of the Khmer Rouge Santebal police recovered from the notorious Tuol Sleng Prison in Cambodia. Document types include treaties, speeches, government and NGO publications, reports, addresses from congresses and conventions, newspapers, transcripts, case files, personal diaries of victims of human rights violations, and the papers of human rights activists. Secondary sources include periodicals, dissertations, and published works of fiction and nonfiction covering the breadth of topics in this multidisciplinary field.

Archived collection of 600+ human rights related websites, collected from 2008-the present. HRWA is a collecting intiatiative of the Center for Human Rights Documentation & Research and Columbia University Libraries.

Full-text of important treaties and conventions, research guides and pathfinders, refugee and asylum resources, and more. Convenient multi-lingual search engine for many of the main human rights sites. See, esp. the "Links to Over 4,000" which clearly and concisely categorizes topics. Also serves those who are interested in securing work in human rights fields.

Cross-national database on the status of women.

Free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law. 899 databases from 123 countries and territories via the Free Access to Law Movement