Adler University Library: DCES-704 Adv Multicultural Counseling, Advocacy & Leadership: Journal Articles

Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers wide range of disciplines, including sciences & humanities.
ERIC via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center database provides access to education literature and resources.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
APA PsycInfo (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid option for psychology & mental health. Includes social sciences, medical, business, education, law.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal justice, race, gender, family, political sociology, religion, social psychology, social structure, social work, addiction, & violence.
Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal This link opens in a new window
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) provides biomedical, earth science literature.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
List of predatory open access journals
Avoid these journals

Use the past

Check the works cited by an article you already found in order to find more relevant articles.

Look to the future

To find articles that cite an article you found, try Google Scholar. Just search for the article you have, and then click "Cited by..."

Keywords	Subject Headings
Natural language - user generated	Controlled vocabulary used to describe a subject
Could appear only once - anywhere in abstract or title	Database applies subject headings to each resource, based on topic/subject of resource (adds specificity to your search)
No related terms are found, but homonyms might be (words spelled the same, but with different meanings)	Exist in a thesaurus, so helps you find related terms, weed out homonyms
Like using Ctrl+F in a document	All variations (spellings) are covered
Useful when: topic is very new, or looking for specific person/organization	Useful when: topic has established academic research on it, and you want highly relevant results

Spelling & word variations (these work in most databases)

Truncation Use * at the end of the word for variations on endings
- Educt* (retrieves educate, educator, educated, educational)
Question mark Use ? in the middle of a word for variable spellings
- Colo*r (retrieves color & colour)

Group a phrase together in precise order

Use quotes “ “ to take a phrase together, rather than each word separately
- “industrial and organizational psychology”

Proximity searching - find words near each other