Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academics for Black Survival and Wellness
Academics for Black Survival and Wellness was organized by a group of Black counseling psychologists and their colleagues who practice Black allyship. Guided by a Black feminist frame, we hope to foster accountability and growth for non-Black people and enhance healing and wellness for Black people.
Anti-Racist Teaching and Training Resources
4 ways to apply your anti-racism efforts to virtual environments
Now, here are some ways to make sure that you are being anti-racist in your virtual programming.
APAGS Multicultural training database
APAGS has created a multicultural training database to help psychology students develop competencies related to diversity and culture.
APA GUIDELINES on Race and Ethnicity in Psychology
These guidelines provide aspirational guidance for the development of racial and ethnocultural responsiveness for psychological practice. Psychological practice is broadly defined to include education and training, clinical practice, consultation, research, organizational service, and leadership applied to the advancement of the public interest. Racial and ethno-cultural responsiveness means the continual development of knowledge, awareness, reflective practice, and skills needed to promote health, well-being, and equity for racially and ethnically diverse individuals and communities.
Building the anti-racist university: next steps.
An introduction is presented in which the editor discusses various reports within the issue including the racism in higher education institutions, the creation of anti-racist university and the lack of progression of black and ethnic minority students in the academic workforce.
Enhancing Racial Self-Understanding Through Structured Learning and Reflective Experiences
Intercultural maturity and the learning partnerships model are offered as frameworks for understanding the intersection of students’ developmental levels and readiness for cross-racial interactions, and for assisting educators in promoting racial self-understanding.
Everyday antiracism in action: Preference organization in responses to racism
This article examines features of preference organization in disaffiliative responses to possibly racist actions, drawing on a corpus of more than 120 hours of recorded interactions from South African radio call-in shows. My analysis demonstrates how features of dispreferred turn shapes provide producers of possibly racist actions with opportunities to withdraw or back down from them.
Gloria Anzaldúa’s Rhetoric of Ambiguity and Antiracist Teaching
This article addresses approaches to antiracist pedagogy employed in a rhetoric course at a large public research university.
I was a racist teacher and I didn't even know it
Laurie Calvert is a National Board Certified Teacher who taught for 14 years in Asheville, North Carolina. She was a Teaching Ambassador Fellow at the U.S. Department of Education and the Department’s first teacher liaison. Recently, Calvert served as director of communications and marketing for the National Network of State Teachers of the Year.
Social Justice Pedagogy in Psychology: Advocating for Access to Mental Health Care for Youth
This 28-page resource contains three separate course activities to engage students in social justice advocacy for youth mental health.
Teaching Social Justice in Counseling Psychology
This article provides a case example of the integration of social justice and multicultural consciousness across the curriculum of one counseling psychology program.
Teaching Strategies for Incorporating the Multicultural and Social Justice Counseling Competencies.
This article offers teaching strategies and activities that are rooted in both counseling and interdisciplinary literature, as well as considerations for implementation.
Teaching Tolerance provides free resources to educators—teachers, administrators, counselors and other practitioners—who work with children from kindergarten through high school. Educators use our materials to supplement the curriculum, to inform their practices, and to create civil and inclusive school communities where children are respected, valued and welcome participants.
Our program emphasizes social justice and anti-bias. The anti-bias approach encourages children and young people to challenge prejudice and learn how to be agents of change in their own lives. Our Social Justice Standards show how anti-bias education works through the four domains of identity, diversity, justice and action.
White Privilege Knapsack, by Peggy McIntosh
“I was taught to see racism only in individual acts of meanness, not in invisible systems conferring dominance on my group”
Black Lives Canadian Syllabus
#BlackLivesCDNSyllabus is a crowd-sourced syllabus on Twitter created by Anthony Morgan.This is a collection of multiple resources to help illuminate the context of black life and black history in Canada because “crowd-sourced syllabi are acts of resistance.” This hashtag was developed by Anthony Morgan, a lawyer and community advocate, after questions surrounding the necessity of Black Lives Matter Toronto sparked off after the group’s protests at Pride on July 5th.
Books in the Adler Library collection
The Racial Healing Handbook by
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
A powerful and practical guide to help you navigate racism, challenge privilege, manage stress and trauma, and begin to heal. Healing from racism is a journey that often involves reliving trauma and experiencing feelings of shame, guilt, and anxiety. This journey can be a bumpy ride, and before we begin healing, we need to gain an understanding of the role history plays in racial/ethnic myths and stereotypes. In so many ways, to heal from racism, you must re-educate yourself and unlearn the processes of racism.
Pedagogy of the Oppressed by
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Pedagogy of the Oppressed has helped to empower countless impoverished and illiterate people throughout the world. Freire's work has taken on especial urgency in the United States and Western Europe, where the creation of a permanent underclass among the underprivileged and minorities in cities and urban centers is increasingly accepted as the norm.
Teaching to Transgress: education as the practice of freedom by
Publication Date: 2014-03-18
In Teaching to Transgress, bell hooks--writer, teacher, and insurgent black intellectual--writes about a new kind of education, educations as the practice of freedom. Teaching students to "transgress" against racial, sexual, and class boundaries in order to achieve the gift of freedom is, for hooks, the teacher's most important goal.
Indigenous Cultures and Mental Health Counselling by
Call Number: RC451.5.I5 I64 2017
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
This volume examines ways Indigenous healing practices can complement Western psychological service to meet the needs of Indigenous peoples through traditional cultural concepts. Bringing together leading experts in the fields of Aboriginal mental health and psychology, it provides data and models of Indigenous cultural practices in psychology that are successful with Indigenous peoples.
Recommended Assigned Readings
Challenges and Coping Mechanisms of Whites Committed to Antiracism
Scholars have cited an antiracist identity as an ideal development status for Whites seeking to change systemic racism (Helms, 1995). However, little is known regarding the lived complexities of antiracist work itself. This article examines the experiences of one group of Whites (N = 10) committed to antiracist action. Outcomes indicate challenges that include backlash and struggles to identify more effective antiracist tactics. Coping mechanisms are considered in relation to counseling and counselor training practices.
A Developmental Model of Intercultural Maturity
This article focuses on the development of intercultural maturity, which is frequently cited as a desired collegiate outcome.
Refining King and Baxter Magolda's Model of Intercultural Maturity
This analysis of students' experiences confirmed as well as refined and expanded King and Baxter Magolda's (2005) model, which mapped the development of intercultural maturity.
Psychology's urgent need to dismantle racism
Psychology has an opportunity to continue evolving and meet the needs of a changing U.S. population—starting by countering the pervasive and damaging effects of racism. Experts contend that anti-racist psychological science is better science because it adapts to the reality of an increasingly diverse America. In short, psychology has two choices—advance or become irrelevant.
Decolonizing the curriculum
Decolonizing Trauma Work by
Call Number: RC451.5.I5 L56 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Through stories and strategies that are grounded in Indigenous worldviews and embedded with cultural knowledge, Linklater offers purposeful and practical methods to help individuals and communities that have experienced trauma. Decolonizing Trauma Work, one of the first books of its kind, is a resource for education and training programs, health care practitioners, healing centres, clinical services and policy initiatives.
Indigenizing and Decolonizing the Teaching of Psychology: Reflections on the Role of the Non‐Indigenous Ally.
In this article, I survey the existing literature on Indigenizing and decolonizing psychological curriculum and share ways in which I have integrated Indigenous content into my psychology courses. I also reflect upon the successes, questions, and ongoing challenges that have emerged as I worked in collaboration with first Anisinaabek First Nations and then Mi'kmaw/L'nu First Nations. Highlights: Describes how and why non‐Indigenous psychology professors should integrate directives from the 2015 Truth and Reconciliation Commission into their teaching practices.Reflects on the successes, questions, and ongoing challenges of decolonizing and Indigenizing the teaching of psychology.The core values and practices of Community Psychology are particularly well suited to the endeavor of decolonizing and Indigenizing academia and its curriculum.
Videos to Teach about Privilege
Cultural Safety and Cultural Competency: programs
One Focus; Many Perspectives: A Curriculum for Cultural Safety and Cultural Competence Education
This curriculum is designed as a catalyst for dialogue and change within the mental health and addictions system. It is intended for use by as broad a range of people as possible; mental health consumers, their families, practitioners, managers, policy makers, politicians and members of the public. The curriculum is offered as a vehicle for conveying, and for engaging people in applying, the central messages contained in the Report ―Holding Hope in our Hearts, prepared for the Mental Health Commission of Canada (MHCC) by members of the First Nations Inuit and Métis Advisory Committee (FNIM AC) to the MHCC.
Saint Elizabeth (SE) First Nations, Inuit & Métis Program
Working together with First Nation, Inuit and Métis communities to share knowledge and build health and wellbeing solutions.
San'yas Indigenous Cultural Safety Training
San’yas: Indigenous Cultural Safety Training is a unique, on-line training program designed to enhance self-awareness, and strengthen the skills of those who work both directly and indirectly with Indigenous people. The goal of the Indigenous Cultural Safety (ICS) training is to develop understanding and promote positive partnerships between service providers and Indigenous people.