Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CARLI Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
CARLI Digital Collections is a growing image and special collections research resource for faculty, staff, students, and the public. By combining digital collections from a number of CARLI member institutions into a seamless environment, researchers are guaranteed richer search results on a variety of topics.
Saskia This link opens in a new window
A collection of 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Uffizi, and the Louvre as well as archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt.
Images and Copyright
Images are protected by copyright, which provides rights to the creators.
- Fair use: this provides some rights to the users, although the work is copyrighted. It is determined by four factors:
- Purpose & character of use (eg commercial v educational)
- Nature of copyrighted work
- Amount or percentage of the work to be used
- Effect of the use on the market value for the work
- Public domain: works which are free for all - copyright does not apply
- Copyright laws have time limits, after which the works pass into the public domain
- Creators can opt to have their work be in the public domain (waive their rights to copyright)
Creative Commons - nonprofit organization. Below are some standard license elements CC created
- Attribution (BY) - You must cite the creator
- NonCommercial (NC) - You cannot profit by using the work
- No derivatives (ND) - You cannot make any changes to the work
- Share alike (SA) - You can make changes, but then you must provide the same license to the new work you created
In a paper:
- Image caption: Figure 1. Author, A.A. (Year). Title of material. [Description of material]. Retrieved from http://www.xxxx
- In text: (Creator, 1990) or if no creator, use the title: (Title, 1990)
- Reference list: Creator, C. (Year of production or publication). Title of work [Description, Medium, or other relevant information]. Retrieval information or location of the work.
- Refer to APA manual for more details
In posters or presentations:
- A credit statement, rather than a formal citation, is likely sufficient (you can check with your instructor)
- You will still need to:
- Credit the creator
- Provide title & date (if available)
- Provide Creative Commons license type (if applicable)
- Link to original work