Chat loading...
Frances provides information literacy instruction within strategic courses during students' programs, typically in the following sequence.
Always taught by Frances
| Technique | Learning Objectives | Frame |
| Mostly lecture |
Reduce library anxiety (affect) Learn Frances' name Basic navigation of Adler Library website Distinguish I-Share vs. ILLiad |
NA |
Often taught within a seminar course. One hour.
Taught by either Frances or a Peer Teacher (upper-level student trained by Frances)
| Module | Technique | Learning Objectives | Frame |
| Module 1 | Drawing activity | Connect research to positionality | Authority is constructed & contextual |
| Module 2 | Workshop: Database intro |
Describe how subject headings differ from keywords in order to recognize the impact language has on finding sources, esp regarding minority populations Combine different search terms to expand/narrow Locate full text from database |
Searching as Strategic Exploration |
Often taught within a seminar course. 30 - 60 minutes.
Taught by Frances.
| Module | Technique | Learning Objectives | Frame |
| Module 1 | Workshop | Distinguish how using keywords or subject headings impacts searches | Searching as Strategic Exploration |
This session can be taught in a variety of classes. Sometimes in spring year 1, but can be taught in summer year 1 or in year two. 45 minutes.
This session can be collapsed into Research Methods as a module.
| Module | Technique | Learning Objectives | Frame |
| Module 1 | Cats & schizophrenia activity |
Locate full text, starting in Google Develop & maintain open mind when encounter varied & conflicting perspectives Develop awareness of importance of assessing content w/skeptical stances & self-awareness of own biases/worldview Seek multiple perspectives during information gathering & assessment |
Scholarship as Conversation |
| Module 2 | Review Databases |
This is always taught by Frances and is best offered within a research course.
Modules 1-5 take two hours and are best before students search for citations.
Modules 6 & 7 take 45 minutes and are best after students have citations, before they write a literature review.
| Module | Technique | Learning Objective | Frame |
| Module 1 | Lit reviews discussion & activity | Define & explain importance of literature reviews |
Research as Inquiry Scholarship as Conversation |
| Module 2 | Venn diagram activity | Visualize topic as Venn diagram to better refine & understand how to search for various facets of topic |
Research as Inquiry |
| Module 3 | Discussion: Search Tools | Understand differences between databases & search engines (how organized, who creates, how biases impact) and determine which databases to select | Searching as Strategic Exploration |
| Module 4 | Workshop: Advanced databases |
Become familiar with how and why databases are structured in order to improve search techniques across platforms | Searching as Strategic Exploration |
| Module 5 | Lecture: Organization |
RefWorks Note taking strategies for how to select & review articles quickly Matrix model for organizing sources by theme |
Research as Inquiry |
| Module 6 | Discussion | Discussion around positionality of researchers on their topic | Scholarship as Conversation |
| Module 7 |
Article mapping |
Visualize the conversation on a topic based on mapping articles already found |
Scholarship as Conversation |
This session is always taught by Frances. It fits well within courses about multiculturalism, social determinants, advocacy.
It is two hours.
| Module | Technique | Learning Objective | Frame |
| Module 1 | Venn diagram activity | Visualize topic as Venn diagram to better refine & understand how to search for various facets of topic | Research as Inquiry |
| Module 2 | Discussion |
Question traditional norms of granting authority Match information needs and search strategies to appropriate search tools Understand how information systems (e.g. search engines, databases) are organized in order to access relevant sources |
Authority is constructed & contextual Information has value Searching as strategic exploration |