Chat loading...
FEEDBACK: The tabs and links on the library homepage can be confusing.
ACTION: Over the spring and summer, the library will be conducting a benchmarking study of other university library homepages and reviewing best practices in the field. We will make changes to the website in time for start of Fall 2024 and will conduct a usability study of the redesigned homepage at that time. If you're interested in participating in the usability study please contact a librarian on your campus:
FEEDBACK: Finding articles is difficult and requires too many steps.
ACTION: In Fall 2024, we will launch the ability to search across most of our databases and our catalog simultaneously from our homepage using a single search box.
FEEDBACK: Students expressed confusion over obtaining materials from other schools, including the difference between our two systems: ILLiad and I-Share
RESPONSE:
ACTION: We will clarify the difference between these services on the ILLiad landing page.
FEEDBACK: Students requested sections for publications/media by Adler faculty and alumni.
RESPONSE: A collection of alumni publications is in the works. At this time, we do provide a comprehensive guide to Adler faculty publications.
FEEDBACK: Students requested more policy-based databases.
RESPONSE: Adler has added a subscription to the Policy Commons database, which can be reached from the link below. For assistance finding policy information in that database, or for any of our other 60+ databases, please contact the library on your campus:
Repository of grey literature, containing millions of reports from think tanks, agencies, and cities.
FEEDBACK: Students requested access to peer-reviewed journals.
RESPONSE: Adler's library subscribes to thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Database search screens allow you to limit your search to articles from peer-reviewed publications. This will show you how to do that for Ebsco databases, such as Academic Search Complete, and for Ovid databases such as PsycInfo.
For assistance finding peer-reviewed articles in any of our databases, please contact the library on your campus:
FEEDBACK: It's difficult to find specific journal titles.
RESPONSE: This can be done from the search box on the library homepage by using the gray Journal Title tab. This is illustrated at the link below.
FEEDBACK: Students would like more sports journals added to the library.
RESPONSE: The library subscribes to the database SportDiscus, which can be found from the A-Z list of databases and from the Sport Psychology program page. This database includes citations of peer reviewed articles on a wide variety of topics related to sports and athletes.
ACTION: The library spoke with faculty in the Sport Psychology program about key journals. While the library already subscribes to these journals, there is a 6-12 month embargo on some of the newest content. The library is looking into subscribing directly to these journals to remove the embargo.
FEEDBACK: Students requested more industrial-organizational journals.
RESPONSE: Please use the library guides we have created for the Online and Vancouver I-O Psychology programs, linked below. They explain how to find articles from journals in your field.
The library will also be working with program directors for the Online and Vancouver I-O programs to review our access to the most important journals in this field and identify new titles.
FEEDBACK: Students requested more updated materials on art therapy.
RESPONSE: Please use the library guides we have created for the Chicago and Vancouver Art Therapy programs, linked below. They explain how to find articles from journals in your field.
The library will also be working with program directors for the Art Therapy programs to review our access to the most important journals in this field and identify new titles.
FEEDBACK: Students requested more materials on substance use and addiction.
RESPONSE: The library provides access to a number of peer-reviewed journals in this area, including Journal of Substance Use; Substance Use; Research and Treatment; Journal of Substance Use and Addiction Treatment; and Addiction Science and Clinical Practice. These titles and others can be accessed by using the Journals search tab on the library homepage.
The library will also be working with program directors and chairs to review our access to the most important journals in the field and identify new titles.
FEEDBACK: Students requested more material in neuropsychology and medical psychology.
RESPONSE: The library provides access to a number of peer-reviewed journals in this area, including Neuropsychology; Journal of Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology; and Neuropsychology Review; These titles and others can be accessed by using the Journals search tab on the library homepage.
The library will also be working with program directors and chairs to review our access to the most important journals in the field and identify new titles.
FEEDBACK: Students would like access to Harvard Business Review
RESPONSE: The library does have Harvard Business Review, within the database Business Source Elite.
FEEDBACK: Students would like access to the Fat Studies Journal.
RESPONSE: We have access to the Fat Studies Journal.
FEEDBACK: Students would like access to the Journal of Black Psychology.
RESPONSE: We have access to the Journal of Black Psychology.
FEEDBACK: Students would like access to Frontiers Journal on Psychedelic Assisted Therapy.
RESPONSE: It seems students want the publication Frontiers in Pharmacology. This is an open access resource, which is linked through our library.
FEEDBACK: Students would like access to the Journal of Individual Psychology.
RESPONSE: We do subscribe to the Journal of Individual Psychology.
FEEDBACK: Students would like more access to video resources.
RESPONSE: The library subscribes to nine streaming video collections, including collections focused on therapy, counseling, and art therapy. Use the below link to learn how to search for the videos in our collection. Email us at library@adler.edu and let us know of specific titles/areas you cannot find.
FEEDBACK: Students would like access to more audio books.
RESPONSE: The Writing Center is working with IT to provide access to Read & Write by the summer semester. This tool can read PDFs and other documents out loud to users, including PDFs of database articles and e-book chapters from the library.