Adler University Library: Online Course Design and the Library: Find Library Materials for a Course

Find E-books in the Library Catalog

Library Catalog

Type your topic into the search box & press Enter.
Next, limit your results to "Available online" and "Books" (under Resource Type).
Be sure to click Apply Filters.

Find Course Materials at Adler Library

Providing all online learners with equitable access to course materials is essential.

When selecting required course materials, use library materials (e.g. ebooks, journal articles, and videos) and openly-licensed textbooks / educational resources.
Instructions for finding library materials for a course are described in the boxes below.
Ask the librarian for assistance locating high-quality, freely-available online course materials (e.g. Open Educational Resources--OER)

Adding Library Ebooks to a Course

Adler University Library provides access to a vast number of ebook titles that can be used as course materials.
Be sure to use the permalink for the ebook title (and not the url in the browser)
Search in the collections below for ebooks on a course topic:

Library Catalog

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
APA PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window

Adding Library Journal Articles to a Course

STEP 1: Check if Adler Library has access to the journal article by following these steps.

STEP 2: If Adler Library has the full text of the article, use the PERMALINK in Canvas. NOTE: It is essential that you use the Permalink because using the URL in the browser box will not work.

STEP 3: If Adler Library does not have the full text of the article,

Check RightFind Academic from the Copyright Clearance Center to verify if the journal allows digit sharing of its articles.
Request a copy of the article through Adler Library Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)

Adding Library Videos to a Course

If you're looking for a video on a particular topic, in addition to checking the catalog, please also check the video databases below:

APA PsycTherapy This link opens in a new window
Videos of therapy demonstrations showing clinicians working with individuals, couples, and families.
Counseling and Therapy in Video Vol. 1-5 and Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy This link opens in a new window
Videos include counseling sessions, demos, consultations, lectures, & interviews of well-known therapists discussing their work.
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, training videos, & interviews on strategies, techniques, &experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice & public safety.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum.
Human Resource Management Online This link opens in a new window
Cases from well-known case providers, corporate training video, sample business documents & executive-oriented research reports.
LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary perspectives on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window
A multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries.
Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window
A multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries.
Psychotherapy.net Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers a library of training videos featuring the leading practitioners of the psychotherapy field; includes Art Therapy videos.