Interlibrary Loan is a free service which you can use to request journal articles or book chapters that are not available at Adler Library.
If you need to reset your ILLiad password, click the "Forgot Password" button on the ILLiad login page. Enter your username, and click the Reset Password button. You will receive an email with instructions for resetting your password. If you are unable to reset the password, contact us at 312-662-4038 or email@example.com
If you're not in a database, but have a citation, first check if Adler has access to the full text. Follow the steps in the link below.
If, after you follow the steps above, you still can't find the full text, you can make a request directly through Interlibrary Loan, or ILLiad.
Please note: Adler does not request books through ILLiad. Requests are delivered electronically, as PDFs.
Place a request in ILLiad:
Log in here: ILLiad
When you've successfully logged in, you will see this page.
From here, you can place new requests and see the status of requests you've already placed.
In the left column menu, below "New Request," click on the "Article" or "Book Chapter" link depending on which type of resource you would like to order.
The following form will appear. Please note: every field with an asterisk (*) is required.
Click on "Submit Request".
Articles, book chapters, and other non-returnable items are delivered electronically to your ILLiad account or a PDF is sent via email.
Items may take up to 5 business days to process, although sometimes can arrive within a matter of hours.
They are only stored for 30 days so please download and save materials soon as they arrive.
To view or download material:
Log into Illiad and click on the “Electronically Received Article” link under “View” on the left sidebar.
Once the Electronically Received Articles box opens, choose the request from that you want to view.
Click “View” icon to access the full text article. Please download the article and save it.
Please note: To open items delivered electronically you will need Adobe Acrobat. This software can be downloaded for free at the link below:
We will often correspond with you via email about your articles. Please check for these emails & read them, even if they look like templates. Here's what you might expect & how to respond for various emails:
Place a request from a database:
If you find a citation through a database that we don't have in full text, it's easy to request through ILLiad. Just follow these steps.
If there is no PDF nor a link to Full Text, note what type of resource you found.
Since this citation is for a journal, you can click the "360 Link: Check for Full Text." Make sure you have pop ups allowed. This will take you into the Catalog to search for the specific citation. Please wait a full minute for the page to load, as the links to access online can take a bit to load.
Here is what you'll see:
Note, there are no links to full-text availability but there is a link to "Request item."
Clicking on the link will take you to the ILLiad login screen.
When you log in, an order form should populate with the citation information. Check to see that all asterisked fields have information in them, then click on "Submit Request."