Chat loading...
Databases used for academic research are bibliographic databases. They are a useful research tool to find articles on a specific topic. Unlike Google, an algorithmic natural language search, bibliographic databases use keywords and/or subject headings to search through large indices of high-quality academic journals, with many filter options to easily narrow your results. For help using databases, contact your campus librarian at vanlibrary@adler.edu or book an appointment using the link below.
Best Bets:
Ovid option for psychology & mental health. Includes social sciences, medical, business, education, law.
Supports patients' information needs on health and wellness including mainstream and complementary, holistic, integrated medicine, and art based treatments
Covers wide range of disciplines, including sciences & humanities.
Focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Includes scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications, including historically important primary sources
Medical peer reviewed articles, with strong coverage of nursing and allied health. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Criminal justice, race, gender, family, political sociology, religion, social psychology, social structure, social work, addiction, & violence.
All Adler Databases:
Check out this video introduction to subject heading searching in OVID databases. These tutorials will apply to APA PsycInfo, MEDLINE, ERIC, Mental Measures Yearbook, and more. We also have a written tutorial available below.
Check out some video introductions to EBSCO-provided databases. These tutorials will apply to Academic Search Complete, SocINDEX, and Business Source Elite, and more. We also have a written tutorial available below.