Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chat loading...

COUN 629 & MACR 642- Career Development Theories & Intervention: Using Thesauri

How to search appropriate databases to find articles on career counseling How to access career-related publications such as Crains & Chronicle How to navigate Bureau of Labor stats & O*NET

Why use a thesaurus

Each database applies subject headings to articles, which allows you to search for articles by topic. By using a database's thesaurus, you can map your own key terms to the database's subject headings, which will allow you to find articles more efficiently.

Search for "career counsling" using the thesaurus within Business Source Elite, ERIC, or PsycINFO to find articles related to this class. Business Source Elite and ERIC both use the EBSCOhost interface, while PsycINFO uses the Ovid interface. See the videos below to learn more about how to use each interface.

For more information about subject headings, thesauri, or searching particular databases, see the following guides:

Subject headings defined

What:

The most specific word or phrase for a topic/subject, from a list of controlled vocabulary. You can use subject headings to find articles on a particular topic within a database by using the database’s thesaurus.

Why:
Works on the same subject are grouped together so you can find relevant resources 

Where:

  • Library catalogs to find books 
  • In databases to find articles, books, and other resources.

How:
See the following boxes on applying the use of subject headings for finding books and articles.

Searching in PsycINFO

Video not working? Try using Firefox.