Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chat loading...

COUN 629 & MACR 642- Career Development Theories & Intervention: Finding a career path

How to search appropriate databases to find articles on career counseling How to access career-related publications such as Crains & Chronicle How to navigate Bureau of Labor stats & O*NET

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (of United States Department of Labor) provides resources for jobseekers.

Hover over Home and click "JobSeekers".

Bureau of Labor page - hover over "home". Click "Jobseekers"

The following page provides various resources for jobseekers, including links to the Occupational Outlook Handbook, benefits data, employment and wages by area, and job sites.

At the bottom of any page, click "Industries at a glance" for quick overviews of industries.

Image of: Industries at a Glance located at bottom of any page under TOOLS.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook allows you to search by median pay, projected jobs, education required, projected growth rate. Or you can search by keyword.

The entry for each career choice provides information about what people in that career do, the work environment, how to enter the field, the pay, job outlook, and similar occupations.

O*NET

O*NET My Next Move (interest profile quiz)

Take an interest profile quiz (My Next Move), which provides results as a percentage level for each of six interest categories

  • Realistic
  • Investigative
  • Artistic
  • Social
  • Enterprising
  • Conventional

Click "Find it Now" on O*Net's main page

Next, click "Start" under "Tell us what you like to do".

Click "Start" under "Tell us what you like to do"

O*NET options

In addition to My Next Move quiz, O*Net provides information on particular occupations. Simply browse by a particular category (career cluster, green sector, industry, job family, job zone, STEM discipline), search by keyword, or focus on occupations that require a specific tool, skill, or value.

Searching O*Net