Chat loading...
Databases used for academic research are bibliographic databases. They are a useful research tool to find articles on a specific topic. Unlike Google, an algorithmic natural language search, bibliographic databases use keywords and/or subject headings to search through large indices of high-quality academic journals, with many filter options to easily narrow your results. For help using databases, contact your campus librarian at vanlibrary@adler.edu or book an appointment using the link below.
Best Bets:
Business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting
Ovid option for psychology & mental health. Includes social sciences, medical, business, education, law.
Multidisciplinary:
Covers wide range of disciplines, including sciences & humanities.
Access to over 900 SAGE journals in the areas of business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Case Studies:
Cases from well-known case providers, corporate training video, sample business documents & executive-oriented research reports.
Grey Literature:
Repository of grey literature, containing millions of reports from think tanks, agencies, and cities.
All Adler Databases:
Check out this video introduction to subject heading searching in OVID databases. These tutorials will apply to APA PsycInfo, MEDLINE, ERIC, Mental Measures Yearbook, and more. We also have a written tutorial available below.
Check out some video introductions to EBSCO-provided databases. These tutorials will apply to Academic Search Complete, SocINDEX, and Business Source Elite, and more. We also have a written tutorial available below.