Find Articles from a Database Search - Counselling Art Therapy - Vancouver - Adler University Library at Adler University

Art Therapy Databases

Mouse over the links below for a description of the database.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed titles. Subject coverage includes (but is not limited to) animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Definitive database for psychology, psychiatry, and related mental health disciplines (including social, behavioral, and health sciences). Also includes material in related fields such as management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
ERIC via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Educational Resource Information Center database. Provides access to education literature and resources from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 25 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®).
ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts and indexing for more than 610 titles (with over 520 titles available in full text), and encompasses a wide range of topics in clinical and social psychology from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. Also covers related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, public health, and social welfare.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 900 SAGE journals in the areas of business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 700 journals in sociology and its sub-disciplines. Subjects covered include criminology & criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, substance abuse & other addictions, and violence. Also includes full-text access to nearly 800 books and over 9,000 conference papers.

Video tutorial on searching in PsycINFO

APA PsycInfo on Ovid

Click on the icon in the bottom left-hand corner to open the Table of Contents and advance to a specific section in the video. Then open the video in full-screen mode.

Video tutorial searching ProQuest

ProQuest databases: GenderWatch, ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals, and ProQuest Psychology Journals.
This video will introduce you to searching ProQuest databases.

Useful Resources

Searching

Each EBSCOhost database has a similar interface
But, they use different subject headings and their thesauri will have different names ("Subject Terms" (SocIndex), "Thesaurus" (SPORTDiscus), "MeSH" (Medline)).
Watch the video below for an overview of using a thesaurus in an EBSCOhost database.

Step-by-Step EBSCOhost searching
Use this PDF to walk through how to effectively search in any EBSCOhost database.

Link Google Scholar to Adler University

Link Google Scholar to Adler's article databases to obtain the full-text of an article if it is held in our collections.

Here's how:

Go to Google Scholar
Sign in to your Google account
Click on the settings button in the top left corner (three bars)
Click on "settings"
Click on "Library Links" and type "Adler University" in the search box. Check the two listings for Adler University and click on the "Save" button
Now when you search Google Scholar you will see if an article is available at Adler Library on your search result screen. Click on Full Text @ Adler, log in with your Adler username and password, and you will be taken to the article through the Adler collection.