Finding Articles - Counselling Psychology - Vancouver - Adler University Library at Adler University

From a Citation
On a Topic

The easiest way to find an article if you already have the citation for that article is through the library catalogue.

example apa citation

1. Search from the search box on Library Homepage.

2. Click Articles in the top banner. Type the title of the article. If the article contains many common words, consider using quotation marks around the title for the most relevant results.

3. Find how to access the article.

"Available Online" indicates it's online. Click that button to find the link to access.

Screen shot of search bar when using Adler Catalogue

Screen shot of the search resuls when a journal is available within Adler's databases

"No Online Access" We do not have access to this article.
- Click through to submit an ILLiad request to access the article.

Screen shot of Adler Catalogue results

Screen shot of where to request an item

"Check holdings": indicates it's available in print at the Chicago Library.

Screen shot of results from Adler Catalogue search

When we are looking for articles on a specific topic, the best way to search is using a database. Databases used for academic research are bibliographic databases. They are a useful research tool to find articles on a specific topic. Unlike Google, an algorithmic natural language search, bibliographic databases use keywords and/or subject headings to search through large indices of high-quality academic journals, with many filter options to easily narrow your results.

The instructions for how to use a database will depend on which database provider you are using. Usually we use OVID or EBSCOhost.