Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Adler University

Inclusive, Socially Just Teaching: Center for D&I Opportunities

Find resources to guide your approach to classroom approaches

Working with colleagues is one of the best ways to explore, develop, and refine teaching approaches. The Center for Diversity and Inclusion and its partners offer various opportunities to learn and discuss approaches, strategies, and skills within the Adler community. Find opportunities below.

Events and Workshops for Faculty

OPPORTUNITIES

Working with Diversity Learning Outcomes

August 17, 2022 11am-1pm PT/1-3pm CT Register Here 

or

September 1, 2022 1-3pm PT/3-5pm CT Register Here

Faculty will work together on how to use the Diversity Learning Outcomes Guide developed by Diversity Faculty Fellow, Erica Wade-Ball.

(Virtual, Recorded)

 

 

 

Understanding the ADA: Accommodations & Higher Ed

September 15, 2022 2-3pm CT

Rachel Weisberg of Equip for Equality

Join Rachel Weisberg as she unpacks the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and Section 504 requirements from a faculty-perspective. Rachel will provide an overview of these disability rights laws, as well share recent court cases to underscore why honoring students’ accommodations is a requirement for all faculty. Providing accommodations for students with disabilities is central for legal compliance, and, beyond that, is a vital way that Adler supports and welcomes students with disabilities. Such an approach is in keeping with the spirit of the ADA that, “the ADA is the floor, not the ceiling.”

(Virtual, Recorded)

 

Jewish Identity and Antisemitism

October 24, 2022 12- 1:30pm CT

Naomi Greenspan of Academic Engagement Network

Naomi Greenspan will lead a session Jewish identity and help us identify antisemitism in society and at Adler. Faculty and student-facing staff are welcome.

(Chicago Campus Session)


MONTHLY SERIES

Conversations about Teaching

Monthly sessions designed to engage faculty in conversations about socially just teaching practices. An optional article will be distributed to focus the discussion, but most of the time is reserved for faculty to share, explore, and seek solutions to teaching challenges.

(Virtual)

Fall 2022 Theme: Identifying Oppression in Classroom Practices

10-11am PT/ Noon - 1pm CT All sessions

September 13 Racism (Attend via Zoom Link)
October 25 Heteronormativity (Attend via Zoom Link)
November 22 Ableism (Attend via Zoom Link)

MANDATORY WEBINARS

Social Justice Pedagogy

Required webinars designed to build knowledge and skills related to social justice pedagogy. All faculty are invited; core faculty are required to attend (or view the recording) and complete a self-assessed quiz.

(Virtual, Recorded)

October 12, 2022

12-1:30pm PT/2-3:30pm CT

Pillars of Social Justice Pedagogy (Register Here)

January 26, 2023

10-11:30am PT/12-1:30pm CT

Conducting Effective Classroom Conversations about Justice (Register Here)

March 29, 2023

1-2:30pm PT/3-4:30pm CT

Social Justice Curriculum and Assessment (Register Here)

 

For more information, contact Cheryl R. Richardson, Director of Inclusive Teaching Excellence | crichardson2@adler.edu

Past Events

Spring 2022

January 25, 2022 at 2pm PDT/4pm CDT

Promoting Challenging Conversations

Cheryl R. Richardson

February 22, 2022 at 1pm PDT/3pm CDT

Universal Design for Learning Pedagogy Workshop 

Luis Perez of CAST

March 22, 2022 at 12pm PDT/2pm CDT   

Interrogating Whiteness in College Teaching 

Chayla Haynes Davison

Understanding and Addressing Racism in the Classroom 

June 7, 2022

Cheryl Richardson

 

Autumn 2021

September 14, 2021 at 5pm PDT/7pm CDT

Social Justice and the Syllabus - Action Planning with Syllabus Auditors 

Becky Linderholm & Jackson Bartlett

September 28, 2021 at 9am and 2pm PDT/11am and 4pm CDT (1.5 hours)

Decolonial and Antiracist Approaches to Syllabus Design

Aisha Haque, Director of Center for Teaching and Learning at Western University in London, Ontario, CN

October 26, 2021 at 9am and 2pm PDT/11am and 4pm CDT (1hour)

Teaching Students with Disabilities

Christena Gunther, Assistant Director of Disabilities Services, Adler University

Workshop Series: Inclusive and Equitable Teaching October 12, November 9, December 14, 2021 at 2pm PST/4pmCST (1.5 hours/session)

Cheryl Richardson, Director of Inclusive Teaching Excellence, Adler University

Creating a learning environment that embraces diversity - October 12, 2021

Mitigating Bias and Addressing Aggressions - November 9, 2021

Promoting challenging conversations - January 25, 2022

  1.  

Start a Teaching Circle 

Teaching circles provide an opportunity for a group of faculty to learn, adopt, and refine specific pedagogical practices among a community of peers. Drop into our Inclusive Pedagogy Teaching Circle.

Extended Opportunities

Community of Practice

Faculty are invited to join our first Community of Practice (CoP), which will be focused on developing, sharing, and leveraging equity-minded teaching strategies. A CoP is an active, collaborative group that is designed to foster connections and mutual learning. It also provides encouragement and support for each community member who develops a personal project that uses what they have learned to improve a specific course, program, or learning experience.

Six - eight faculty members can participate, and each will receive $200 at the conclusion

Goals

    • Promote collegiality, collaboration, and community learning
    • Support the development of innovative, effective, inclusive, socially-just teaching
    • Provide individually relevant professional development in support of career advancement

Expectations

    • Meet monthly to review presentations, scholarship, data, and discuss equity-minded teaching topics
    • Develop and share an individual project intended to address inequity and improve student learning

Complete this CoP form by September 30, 2022 to express your interest.


Diversity Faculty Fellowship

The intent of the DFF program is to provide administrative and leadership opportunities for faculty invested in ameliorating racial injustice, exclusion and inequity. The Fellow, under the primary direction of the Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion will lead the development and implementation of one major project focused on equity, diversity and inclusion. The selected DFF will be awarded two 3-credit course releases for their participation in a one-year appointment with the program, from October 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023.

Applications must include the following, as a single PDF document:

  • Letter of interest (3 pages max) describing the applicant’s interest in serving as a DFF, how their background and experiences align and support the focus of this program and potential goals, initiatives and projects for the academic year as a DFF.
  • Current vita or resume.

Please send your completed application to Maria Fritz at mfritz@adler.edu no later than 5:00 p.m. on September 23, 2022.


Affinity Group

Create or join an existing group of Adler faculty and staff members who share a minoritized social identity and want to improve the experiences of its members through support, advocacy, and celebration.

If you're interested, please complete this form to create a group.

Email diversity@adler.edu to join the Latinx-Hispanic Affinity Group or Disability Awareness & Action Group

Communiques