Faculty Scholarship

Dennis, M., Halbert, J., & Fornero, S. (2022). Structured development and support for online adjunct faculty: Case studies and best practices. In Kumar, S., & Arnold, P. (Eds.), Quality in online programs: Approaches and practices in higher education (pp. 211-228). Brill.

Williams, D. P., Thayer, J. F., Halbert, J. D., Wang, X., & Kapuku, G. (2021). Higher cardiac vagal activity predicts lower peripheral resistance 6 years later in European but not African Americans. American Journal of Physiology-Heart and Circulatory Physiology, 320(5), H2058-H2065.

Hill, L. K., Thayer, J. F., Williams, D. P., Halbert, J. D., Hao, G., Robinson, V., ... & Kapuku, G. (2021). Ethnic and sex differences in the longitudinal association between heart rate variability and blood pressure. Blood Pressure, 30(3), 165-171.

Guang, H., Halbert , J., Su, S., Bagi, Z., Robinson, V., Thayer, J., Harshfield, G., & Kapuku, G. (2021). Rapid decline of resting heart rate trajectories from childhood to young adulthood is paradoxically associated with increased cardiac mass. Acta Cardiologica, 76(10), 1-7, https://doi.org/10.1080/00015385.2020.1871262

Kapuku, G., Howie, M., Ghosh, S., Doshi, V., Bykhovsky, M., Ange, B., Halbert, J. D., Robinson, V., Bagi, Z., Harshfield, G., & George, V. (2021). Effects of race, cardiac mass and cardiac load on myocardial function trajectories from childhood to young adulthood - The Augusta heart study. Journal of the American Heart Association, 10(3), e015612. https://doi.org/10.1161/JAHA.119.015612

Dennis, M., DiMatteo-Gibson, D., Halbert, J. D., Gonzalez, M., & Byrd, I. P. (2020). Building faculty community: Implementation of a research colloquium series. Journal of Higher Education Theory and Practice, 20(6).

Dennis, M., Halbert, J., DiMatteo-Gibson, D., Agada, C., & Fornero, C. (2020). Implementation of a faculty evaluation model. Journal of Leadership, Accountability and Ethics, 17(5), 30-35.

Halbert, J. D., Hughes, K., Bruch, A. L., Huitt, W., Hao, G., VanTuyll, D. R., Dennis, M., Harshfield, G. A., & Kapuku, G. K. (2020). Burnout in health care providers. Journal of Organizational Psychology, 20(5), 43-50.

Kapuku, G., Ghosh, S., Doshi, V., Hall, P., Strong, W., Pollock, D., Pollock, J., Harris, R., Halbert, J., Harshfield, G., & George, V. (2019). The Augusta heart study. Journal of Environment and Health Science, 5(1), 15-23.

Hao, G., Su, S., Halbert, J., Wang, X.,Harshfield, G., & Kapuku, G. (2019). Can dietary sodium be modified by physician’s advice? Data from sodium and potassium intake among US adults from 2003-2014. International Journal of Food and Nutritional Science, 6(2), 89-93.

Hao, G., Liu, K., Halbert, J. D., Chen, H., Wu, J., & Jing, C. (2020). Dietary sodium and potassium and risk of diabetes: A prospective study using data from the China Health and Nutrition Survey. Diabetes & Metabolism, 46(5), 377-383.

Halbert, J. D., van Tuyll, D. R., Purdy, C., Hao, G., Cauthron, S., Crookall, C., ... & Kapuku, G. K. (2018). Low frequency music slows heart rate and decreases sympathetic activity. Music and Medicine, 10(4), 180-185.

Kapuku, G. K., Krothapalli, S. M., & Corley, J. H. (2018). Role of BMI and venous resistance in modulation of cardiac filling. Arch Gen Intern Med. 2018; 2 (1): 26-31 Arch Gen Intern Med 2018 Volume 2 Issue, 1.

Robinson, V. J. B., Krothapalli, S. M., & Saleem, U. (2018). The hemodynamics of inferior vena cava caliber changes from rest to exercise. Archives of General Internal Medicine. 2 (1), 20-25.

Kapuku, G., Treiber, F., Raouane, F., Halbert, J., Davis, H., Young-Mayes, S., Robinson, V., & Harshfield, G. (2016). Race determines the relationships between oxidative stress markers and blood pressure in individuals with high cardiovascular disease risk. Journal of Human Hypertension, 31(1), 1-6.

Davies, K., Blake, L. Palladino, C., & Halbert, J. (2014). Designing a DREAM database: Library faculty integration in medical education assessment column on virtual projects-designing a DREAM database. Journal of the Medical Library Association, 102(4), 232–233.

Aleksandrov, D. S., Bowen, A. R., & Colker, J. (2016). Parent training and cultural considerations. The Journal of Individual Psychology, 72(2), 77-89. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1353/jip.2016.0007

Klee, A., & Moore, B. A. (2014). EPPP Fundamentals: Review for the examination for professional practice in psychology. Springer Publishing.

Moore, B. A., & Barnett, J. E. (Eds.). (2013). Military psychologists' desk reference. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/med/9780199928262.001.0001

Muse, M., & Moore, B. A. (Eds.). (2012). Handbook of clinical psychopharmacology for psychologists. John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

Moore, B. A. (Ed.). (2012). Handbook of counseling military couples. Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203834558

Moore, B. A., & Penk, W. E. (Eds.). (2019). Treating PTSD in military personnel: A clinical handbook (2nd ed.). The Guilford Press.

McGrath, R. E., & Moore, B. A. (Eds.). (2010). Pharmacotherapy for psychologists: Prescribing and collaborative roles. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/12167-000

Moore, B. A., & Kennedy, C. H. (2011). Wheels down: Adjusting to life after deployment. American Psychological Association.

Moore, B. A., & Jongsma, A. E. (2015). The veterans and active duty military psychotherapy treatment planner with DSM-5 updates. John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

Freeman, S. M., Moore, B. A., & Freeman, A. (Eds.). (2009). Living and surviving in harm's way: A psychological treatment handbook for pre- and post-deployment of military personnel. Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group.

Moore, B.A., Mason, S.T., & Crow, B.E. (2012). Assessment and management of acute combat stress on the battlefield. In C.H. Kennedy & E.A. Zillmer(Eds.) Military psychology: Clinical and operational applications (2nd ed., pp. 93-120). The Guilford Press.

Moore, B. A., & Muse, M. (2012). Medical psychology: Definitions, controversies, and new directions. In M. Muse & B.A. Moore, (Eds.) Handbook of clinical psychopharmacology for psychologists, (pp.1-17). John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

Muse, M., & Moore, B. (2012). Integrating clinical psychopharmacology within the practice of medical psychology. In M. Muse & B.A. Moore, (Eds.) Handbook of clinical psychopharmacology for psychologists (pp.17-43). John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

Cosgrove, L., & Moore, B. A. (2012). PROFESSIONAL, LEGAL, ETHICAL, AND INTERPROFESSIONAL ISSUES IN CLINICAL PSYCHOPHARMACOLOGY. In M. Muse & B.A. Moore, (Eds.) Handbook of clinical psychopharmacology for psychologists (pp.457-483). John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

Moore, B. A. (2011). Understanding and working within the military culture. In B. Moore & W. Penk (eds.), Treating PTSD in Military Personnel: A Clinical Handbook (pp. 9-22). Guilford Press.

Moore, B. A. & Penk, W. E. (2011). PTSD in the military. In B. Moore & W. Penk (eds.), Treating PTSD in Military Personnel: A Clinical Handbook (pp. 1-8). Guilford Press.

Moore, B. A. (2010). Saving Private Joe. In J. Carlson, & J. Kottler (eds.), Duped: Lies and Deception in Psychotherapy. Routledge.

Moore, B. A. (2010). The future of prescribing psychology. In R. E. McGrath, & B. A. Moore (eds.), Pharmacotherapy for Psychologists: Prescribing and Collaborative Roles (pp. 233-239). American Psychological Association.

Shadnam, M. (2023). Problematic presuppositions in corporate philanthropy research: Reflexivity and reframing. Organization, 30(4), 766-774.

Birchall, D., & Shadnam, M. 2021. Human rights and business ethics. In Deborah Poff & Alex C. Michalos (eds.) Encyclopedia of Business and Professional Ethics. Springer.

Shadnam, M. 2021. New theories and organization research: From the eyes of change. Journal of Organizational Change Management, 34(4): 822–837.

Shadnam, M., Bykov, A., & Prasad, A. 2021. Opening constructive dialogues between business ethics research and the sociology of morality. Journal of Business Ethics, 170(2), 201–211.

Keim, C., & Shadnam, M. 2020. Leading in an Amish paradise: Humanistic leadership in the Old Order Amish. Cross Cultural & Strategic Management, 27(3): 473–485.

Shadnam, M., Crane, A., & Lawrence, T. B. 2020. Who calls it? Actors and accounts in the social construction of organizational moral failure. Journal of Business Ethics, 165(4), 699–717.

Shadnam, M. 2020. Choosing whom to be: Theorizing the scene of moral reflexivity. Journal of Business Research, 110, 12–23.

Shadnam, M. 2019. A postpositivist commentary on self-fulfilling theories. Academy of Management Review, 44(3), 684–686.

Keim, C., & Shadnam, M. 2018. Through the looking glass: Leadership in the age of surveillance. Journal of Leadership Studies, 12(3): 57–59.

Shadnam, M. 2018. Book review: The drama of social life. Organization, 25(5): 683–685

Saghafian, M., & Shadnam, M. 2016. In whom we trust? A framework for understanding the moral agency in organizational trust. In George W. Watson (ed.) Psychology of Morality: New Research: 61–76. Nova Science Publishers.

Shadnam, M. 2015. Theorizing morality in context. International Review of Sociology, 25(3): 456–480.

Shadnam, M. 2014. Heterologous and homologous perspectives on the relation between morality and organization: Illustration of implications for studying the rise of private military and security industry. Journal of Management Inquiry, 23(1): 22–37.

Shadnam, M., & Lawrence, T. B. 2011. Understanding widespread misconduct in organizations: An institutional theory of moral collapse. Business Ethics Quarterly, 21(3): 379–407.

Lawrence, T. B., & Shadnam, M. 2008. Institutional theory. In Wolfgang Donsbach (ed.) The International Encyclopedia of Communication (Volume V): 2288–2293. Malden: Blackwell Publishing Ltd.

Lavaei, J., Shafizadeh, H., & Shadnam, M. 2003. The Complete Reference for Mathematics Olympiads. Tehran: Alavi Publication. (in Persian)

Mansager, E., & Garrison, R. (2022). Harnessing Adler's Healing Process. The Journal of Individual Psychology, 78(2), 203-220.

Garrison, R. (2022). Individual Psychology Multiple Psychotherapy. The Journal of Individual Psychology, 78(3), 346-355.

Garrison, M. (2021). A Buddhist context for mindfulness. Journal of Individual Psychology, 77(4), 389-391.

Garrison, M., & Libby, L. (2010) Insomnia treatment: Interdisciplinary collaboration and conceptual integration. Journal of Individual Psychology, 66(3), 237-252.

Garrison, M., & Eckstein, D. (2009) Four couples’ sleep satisfaction interviews: Recommendations for improving your nights together. In D. Eckstein(ed.) Relationship Repair: Activities for Couples Counselors. National Social Science Press.

Garrison, M., & Eckstein, D. (2008). A sleep satisfaction interview for couples: Recommendations for improving your nights together. The Family Journal, 17(1), 58-63.

Garrison, M., & Gross, J. (2000) Individual Psychology and group work: Toward an Adlerian group psychotherapy orientation. In Fall, K. & Levitov, J. (eds.). Modern Applications to Group Work (pp. 233-262). Nova Science Publishers.

Falco, K., & Garrison, M. (1995). Steps toward a lesbian friendly life style interview. Journal of Indivisual Psychology, 51(2), 129

Garrison, M. (2006). Misalliance Movements in Psychotherapy. Journal of Individual Psychology, 62(2), 168–179.

McKitrick, D. S., & Garrison, M. A. (1993). Theory of supervision outline: A training tool. The Clinical Supervisor, 10(2), 173-183.

Hickerson, J., & Garrison, M. (1991). Quiet room utilization patterns. Residential Treatment for Children & Youth, 9(1), 39-49.