Finding Tests and Measures

Finding tests and measures is a difficult task for several reasons:

Many tests are commercially owned, and require paying fees to view/administer their tests.
Some tests are published in journal articles, containing the full text of the test.
Other tests are discussed in journal articles, but not discoverable without contacting the author.

REMEMBER: Finding the full text of the test does NOT necessarily give you permission to administer it!

Finding Full Text of Tests

If you know which test you are looking for, Google is a good place to start looking for the full text. If you trying to find a test on a subject, try using APA PsycTests first.

APA PsycTests This link opens in a new window
PsycTests shows tests that are neither commercially available, nor freely published on the internet. You can search by title, or search by subject. Not all tests listed have full texts. If they don't, you can check the "source used" to see where the test was first published. REMINDER: Please do not click "request document" as we are not able to request tests through ILLiad.
Dissertations & Theses Full Text: The Sciences and Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
If a test is used or cited in a dissertation, it will often be included in the appendices of the dissertation. Search for the name of the test, using quotation marks, then check the appendices of the results to see if the full text is included. REMINDER: You will still need to determine if you have permission to administer

After trying APA PsycTests, Dissertations, and Google, if you cannot find the full text of the test, you might need to contact the author.

Finding Information about a Test

If you don't need to administer the test, or are looking for infomation and reviews of commercially available tests, these are places where you can find reputable and critical reviews, and test descriptions.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Reviews of standardized tests and measures in a variety of subjects, including descriptive data about test descriptions, publishers, pricing, etc.
APA PsycInfo (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid option for psychology & mental health. Includes social sciences, medical, business, education, law.

Check out our guide to learn how to search for tests and measures:

Assessment - Tests, Measures, and Kits
by Frances Brady Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 1647 views this year

Counselling Psychology - Vancouver: Finding Tests and Measures