Counselling Psychology - Vancouver: Key Course Books

Hays's popular bestseller invites readers to move beyond a one-dimensional view of identity to a nuanced understanding of the overlapping cultural influences that affect us all. This fourth edition's new chapters feature culturally adapted cognitive behavioral tools and techniques, and trauma due to racism and other systemic forms of oppression. It remains richly illustrated with case material, with many new vignettes and examples demonstrating the ADDRESSING framework in both counseling and clinical practice. Other new material includes updated discussion of gender identity, with attention to clinically relevant research regarding transgender and nonbinary people, more on people with disabilities (the largest minority group in the U.S.), the latest terminology and language regarding diverse minority groups, and a special section on social justice and its relationship to therapeutic practice. In an increasingly diverse society, mental health providers must be able to work effectively with a wide variety of clients. The ADDRESSING framework shows clinicians and counselors how to take into account age and generational influences, developmental or other disability, religion and spirituality, ethnic and racial identity, Indigenous heritage, national origin, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, and gender. Each chapter includes Key Ideas summaries and practice exercises, making this book ideal for personal, educational, or group use.

This best-selling text explains the basic principles of psychological assessment and measurement and guides students and practitioners in the appropriate selection, interpretation, and communication of test results. Danica Hays introduces more than 150 assessment instruments used to evaluate mental health, intelligence, career development, wellness, personality, and interpersonal relationships. This latest edition covers new or expanded content on assessment use in schools, colleges/universities, and telehealth platforms; interprofessional collaboration to support assessment practices and procedures; qualitative assessment approaches and how they can be infused throughout counseling and assessment; cultural and social justice considerations and practices; and crisis and trauma assessment.

Integrating recent research and developments in the field, this revised second edition introduces an easy-to-master strategy for developing and writing culturally sensitive case conceptualizations and treatment plans. Concrete guidelines and updated case material are provided for developing conceptualizations for the five most common therapy models: Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Psychodynamic, Biopsychosocial, Adlerian, and Acceptance and Commitment Therapy. The chapters also include specific exercises and activities for mastering case conceptualization and related competencies and skills. Also new to this edition is a chapter on couple and family case conceptualizations, and an emphasis throughout on trauma. Practitioners, as well as graduate students in counseling and in clinical psychology, will gain the essential skills and knowledge they need to master case conceptualizations.

This book is designed as a textbook and practice reference guide for students and practitioners that combines theory, practice examples with sample interviews, and challenging self-awareness exercises in a comprehensive yet readable format. The book includes illustrative practice examples and challenging exercises that promote skill development, conceptual understanding, and self-awareness. Throughout the book, the author has included neuroscience concepts that have particular relevance for counsellors. Although framed in the Canadian ethical and cultural context, the content of the book is designed to appeal to a broad international audience of professionals.

Since its initial release in 2004, Ethics for the Practice of Psychology in Canada has filled a vital need for a single source on professional ethics and law relevant to Canadian psychologists. This important new edition reflects the fourth edition of the Canadian Code of Ethics for Psychologists and highlights discussions in the areas of diversity and social justice. An essential resource, it focusses on the most pertinent ethical and legal issues for Canadian psychologists, including decision making, consent, confidentiality, helping without harming, professional boundaries, diversity, social responsibility, and conducting research. An appendix includes discussion questions and reflective journal exercises to facilitate awareness of personal motives and biases relevant to making ethical choices. The EPUB edition is accessible.

CCPA’s 2016 Handbook of Counselling and Psychotherapy in Canada focuses on the practical applications of counselling and psychotherapy within a Canadian context. Thirty-one Canadian contributors including researchers, authors, practitioners, and counsellor-educators who are experts in their respective fields and who are familiar with the Canadian context provide insights in this peer-reviewed volume. Divided into four sections, Part I provides an overview of the Canadian context for counselling and psychotherapy. In Part II, diversity issues in counselling and psychotherapy are explored. Part III focuses on foundational issues in theory and research. More specific clinical issues in counselling and psychotherapy are explored in Part IV. The concluding chapter in the Handbook describes current trends in counselling and psychotherapy in a Canadian context

Now in its third edition, The Heart of Counseling is a key resource helping students to understand the importance of therapeutic relationships and to develop the qualities that make the therapeutic relationships they build with clients the foundation of healing. In these pages, students will learn how all skills arise from, and are directly related to, the counselor's development and how they build therapeutic relationships. Student learning ranges from therapeutic listening and empathy to structuring sessions, from explaining counseling to clients and caregivers to providing wrap-around services, and ultimately to experiencing therapeutic relationships as the foundation of professional and personal growth. Enhancing development with extensive online student and instructor materials, this new edition includes: extensive case studies and discussions on applying skills in school and agency settings specific guidance on how to translate the abstract concepts of therapeutic relationships into concrete skill sets exploration of counseling theories and tasks within and extending from core counseling skills session videos that bring each chapter to life test banks, an instructor's guide, slides and lesson notes, syllabus, and video sessions index

Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to MyCounselingLab® with Pearson eText. To order MyCounselingLab® with Pearson eText packaged with the bound book, use ISBN 0134497635. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Hackney and Bernard's The Professional Counselor offers a solid grounding in counseling skills and an understanding of how these skills are used within different therapy orientations, including affective, cognitive, behavioral, and systemic domains. It presents students with a four-stage model of counseling which shows them how to assess client problems, develop counseling goals, define strategies and select interventions, and terminate and evaluate the counseling relationship. The new co-author of this edition, Janine M. Bernard, brings her expertise in clinical supervision to help deconstruct the counseling process for learners, resulting in effective editing of all chapters in this edition. Also included is a discussion of the application of counseling interventions to Dialectical Behavior Therapy and Motivation Interviewing, so that students can appreciate that skills are not distinct from therapy approaches they will use in their clinical courses. Included are new case examples drawing from different specialties within counseling, and more than 40 new web-based video samples illustrating the content of the book. Also available with MyCounselingLab® This title is also available with MyCounselingLab--an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work with the text to engage students and improve results. Within its structured environment, students see key concepts demonstrated through video clips, practice what they learn, test their understanding, and receive feedback to guide their learning and ensure they master key learning outcomes.

Using case studies, applied examples, original source material, and her own inimitable pedagogical style, Nancy Murdock succinctly elucidates fifteen of the most influential and ground-breaking theories of psychotherapy and counseling. With this articulate guide to counseling theory, students will grasp complicated historical theory and not only understand the historical footing and uses of each, but will learn how these theories have informed each other and contributed to modern practice, while applying it to their own professional counseling experience. Examining the historical roots, evaluations, and lasting effects of Existential, Gestalt, Behavior, Cognitive, Reality, Feminist, Family, Narrative, and Solution-Focused Therapy and much more, this text equips students with the history and application necessary to bring theory to life.